Atoclassic Real Tonic Skincare Review

Back in May Dee from Adordee Blog introduced me to Jieun from Kokofash so I could try out a Korean brand called Atoclassic. What peaked my interest was that this is a 한방 / Hanbang line from an actual clinic/pharmacy. And if you visit Kokofash you’ll see under each atoclassic product a brief introduction to the makers of the line which is named after Woobo’s skin healing history.

kokofashatoclassic

 

What is Hanbang ~ 한방

Running the term through a Korean/English dictionary will get you ‘oriental medicine’ which always bothered me since I feel that 1) Oriental is an outdated term 2) that it leads people away from Korea’s traditional medicine and history. Of course Korean medicine, just like traditional medicine in Asia, has been influenced by the Chinese in what ingredients & treatment types are used. However I would say that even though there is an influence of Chinese medicine, Korean medicine and practices has it’s own lineage tracing back to ancient times. I would also mark Hanbang as being very much a plant-focused/herbal type of medicine with a wide variety of applications to improve the health of various body systems. It is often described as being herbal medicine in fact. As a child in America growing up with a Korean mother, Hanbang starts in the kitchen. When children or adults get sick or have low energy different medicinal teas can be used, you can call these Hanbang Cha 한방차. The two I received the most as a child were Ssangwhacha 쌍화차 which is an herbal blend most often with a ginseng, jujube base along with other herbs which can help balance you, but most importantly give you an energy boost and Saenggangcha 쌩강차 which is ginger tea, used to warm me up when I had a cold. But Hanbang isn’t just focused on treating acute symptoms, it also focuses on prevention, which is where food itself becomes medicine with the focus on what specific ingredients can do to improve specific aspects of your health. And before I get too sidetracked, hanbang is also found in the cosmetics industry where it blends in well to provide ingredients that focus on specific skin or hair conditions or in general to provide soothing ingredients for a wide range of skin types. Some brands you may have already heard of which use hanbang such as Sulwhasoo, History of Whoo, Sooryehan and Ryeo, but today we’re looking at Woobo’s creation: Atoclassic

What is Atoclassic

I thought I was maybe going to get one product to try and Jieun sent me errrythang

I thought I was maybe going to get one product to try and Jieun sent me errrythang

The name comes from Woobo’s 우보 skin healing history. With the Ato coming from Atopy and the real tonic coming from Woobo wanting to make it a point to show they’re using 14% active medicinal ingredients (which differ for each product) in addition to the other ingredients that are not necessarily featured, but are still part what makes this line effective. Atoclassic’s motto is Less Sensitive, More Beautiful , which even though it is marketed as good for all skin types, I would say that due to the ingredients leaning towards more anti-inflammatory actives I would say this line would be most effective for those with inflammatory skin conditions or troubles such as inflammatory acne, atopic dermatitis/eczema etc.

So what is my skin type (it’s on the side-bar too)

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • preventing cancer

So I would say that my skin type wouldn’t be the one to really showcase the calming and soothing effect of these products but if you’re looking to venture into Hanbang that to me, doesn’t have the strong herbal scent that is usually found in Hanbang, this is your brand.

What I’m reviewing

16-08-17-14-55-41-165_deco

Testing period

I used all products in the line starting May 17, 2016 through June 18th, where I swapped out the cream for another mositurizer

 

Tonight’s routine… because it’s Monday I feel like I should post a routine at least once a week (even though it varies little day to day) . . . You may notice a few things missing… I started to line up the etude house wonder pore toner… and I just couldn’t… not next to this packaging . . . 1. Cleanser: @atoclassic real tonic soothing multi cleanser 2. Toner: @etude_official Wonder Pore fresher 3. Essence: Atoclassic real tonic soothing origin essence 4. Lotion: Atoclassic real tonic calming smart lotion 5. Cream: Atoclassic real tonic calming intensive cream 6. Sleeping pack: #packbox aqua water bomb sleeping brush pack 7. Lips @laneige_us lip sleeping mask . . . #rasianbeauty #asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #한방 #hanbang #kokofash #atoclassic #아토클래식 #우보 #instablogging #instabeautyblogging #beautyblogger #beautyblogging #blogger #blog #instaskincare #naturalskincare #naturalcosmetic #natural #korea #스킨 #스킨케어 #skincare #routine

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on

 

I’ve actually continued to the use the cleanser and the lotion for weeks to follow until recently when I decided I should probably start testing some other things #blogginglife And now for a rundown of each product with my impressions and its star ingredients

Atoclassic Real Tonic Soothing Multi Cleanser

16-08-17-16-54-51-285_deco

This packaging is to DIE for

 

This low pH Cleanser which Kokofash tests around a 6, but I test a little lower around a 5.5 comes out a light amber color and for the longest time I couldn’t pick up a smell. Until recently my friends were asking me if I was noticing a barley syrup (which was from @touchmyfaceu on instagram) and a burnt sugar smell (from @mapletreeblog on instagram). After long last I realized that after lathering I never smelled the soap on its own. And it does produce a light lather which gets a bit richer when I use my clairsonic.

16-08-17-17-05-46-451_deco

16-08-17-17-07-59-979_deco

Finally after months of not sniffing the bubbles… I cupped my hands to my face and got that sweet grainy scent. Its light though, and I went months without noticing so I think that most people wouldn’t be bothered by the scent unless they’re lather smellers. Nowadays I use this in the morning and/or at night as a second cleanser. Its low pH leaves my face feeling clean but not tight

16-08-17-16-57-20-296_deco

But to make things clear

  • color: tan
  • texture: thin gel
  • scent: very light, sweet grainy smell
  • efficacy: works well as a general cleanser, but for waterproof makeup and heavy makeup this will work better as a second cleanser

Ingredients in CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water ‧Solvent
1
Chamaecyparis Obtusa Leaf Extract ‧Plant extract
Cocamidopropyl Betaine ‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
4
Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract ‧Plant extract
Lauryl glucoside ‧Surfactant
1
Dipropylene glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1
Codonopsis Lanceolata Root Extract
Glycerin ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice
Algin ‧Fragrance
‧Viscosity Control
4 4
1
1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent
1
Caprylhydroxamic acid
Butylene Glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Disodium EDTA
1
Xanthium Strumarium Fruit Extract
1
Nelumbo Nucifera Leaf Extract
Angelica Tenuissima Root Extract
Pogostemon Cablin Leaf Extract ‧Fragrance
1
Poncirus Trifoliata Fruit Extract
1
Nardostachys Chinensis Root Extract ‧Plant extract
Lysimachia Foenum-graecum Extract
Potassium cocoyl glycinate no matched results

The start ingredient of this cleanser is the 더닥 /Deodoek which is also known as the balloon flower/Platycodon. This root has saponins in it which lends itself well into a natural soap but I believe that codonopsis lanceolata is more often used as food in Korean but also seems to have some potential applications therapeautically. I suggest checking out the following reference to start any inquest on it’s therapeutic applications:

Hossen, M. J., Kim, M.-Y., Kim, J.-H., and Cho, J. Y. (2016) Codonopsis lanceolata: A Review of Its Therapeutic Potentials. Phytother. Res.,30: 347356. doi: 10.1002/ptr.5553.

Atoclassic Real Tonic Soothing Origin Essence

16-08-17-14-58-28-779_deco

16-08-17-15-07-32-911_deco

Gonna start this review off right

  • color: clear with a light tan tinge
  • texture: bouncy/chewy gel
  • scent: very very light herbal/leafy scent I’d almost call this unscented
  • efficacy: This product in particular is going to target atopic dermatiis and other inflammations of the skin. I didn’t have any inflammation issues so for me this was just a hydrating essence

16-08-17-15-10-48-534_deco

Ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water ‧Solvent
1
Chrysanthemum Sinense Flower Extract ‧Surfactant
1
Panthenol ‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
0 0
1
Chamaecyparis Obtusa Leaf Extract ‧Plant extract
Punica Granatum Fruit Extract
1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent
1
Rehmannia Chinensis Root Extract
1
Polygonum Multiflorum Root Extract
1
Sesamum Indicum Seed Extract ‧Plant extract
1
Paeonia Albiflora Root Extract
1
Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract
1
Lycium Chinense Root Extract
Dictamnus Desycarpus Root Extract
Lonicera Japonica Flower Extract ‧Plant extract
1
Angelica Gigas Root Extract
1
Zingiber Officinale Root Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Plant extract
1
Kochia Scoparia Fruit Extract ‧Moisturizer
Lithospermum Erythrorhizon Root Extract
1
Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract
Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Emollient
1
Poria Cocos Extract
1
Atractyloides Japonica Rhizome Extract ‧Plant extract
1
Forsythia Suspensa Fruit Extract ‧Antioxidant
1
Panax Ginseng Root Extract ‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Astragalus Membranaceus Root Extract ‧Emollient
1
Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract
1
Sodium Hyaluronate ‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Glycerin ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
PEG-8 ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
3
Caprylyl Glycol ‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Sodium Polyacrylate ‧Viscosity Control
3
Carbomer ‧Viscosity Control 0 1
1
Algin ‧Fragrance
‧Viscosity Control
4 4
1
Acrylates/
C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer
‧Viscosity Control
1
Caprylhydroxamic acid
Butylene Glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Disodium EDTA
1
Triethanol amine ‧pH Adjusters 2 0
5

Even though as listed on the packaging, it says chrysanthemum sinense and the research is listing chrysanthemum indicum, I think that sinense and indicum might be closely related. At least according to the book Popular Garden Flowers: Anemones, Asters, Begonias…[et Al.] by Walter Page Wright: C.indicum and C.sinense which both came from China, have single yellow flowers are the parents to many of the modern day chrysanthemum species today. As translated by Kokofash from Atoclassic “Gamguk (감국; a mother chrysanthemum) is used in Hanbang to cure skin troubles.This restorative essence immediately soothes and calms skin and nurture the ability to protect itself from both interior and exterior hazard.” The study cited about using Chrysanthemum topically to treat atopic dermatitis is here

Sunmin Park, Jung Bok Lee, and Suna Kang, “Topical Application of Chrysanthemum indicum L. Attenuates the Development of Atopic Dermatitis-Like Skin Lesions by Suppressing Serum IgE Levels, IFN-γ, and IL-4 in Nc/Nga Mice,” Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, vol. 2012, Article ID 821967, 8 pages, 2012. doi:10.1155/2012/821967

But I think that the more useful paper, is a review of studies on chrysthanemum for management of atopic dermatitis (these are all mouse models btw) can be found here

Younghee Yun, Kyuseok Kim, Inhwa Choi, and Seong-Gyu Ko, “Topical Herbal Application in the Management of Atopic Dermatitis: A Review of Animal Studies,” Mediators of Inflammation, vol. 2014, Article ID 752103, 8 pages, 2014. doi:10.1155/2014/752103

And if you’re not interested in reading papers, basically what I get from them is that there is already a history of using chrysanthemum topically to treat inflammatory skin disorders and more recently there have been experiments using animals models with skin lesions, inflammation, and atopic dermatitis-like skin eruptions that did show a physiological change when chrysanthemum extract was applied. Meaning that there was a marked reduction in inflammation. Essentially they wanted to show evidence for what was already anecdotally known.

_shop1_183600Atoclassic Real Tonic Calming Smart Lotion

16-08-17-15-33-59-638_deco

16-08-17-15-47-59-095_deco

16-08-17-16-41-56-804_deco

  • Color: white
  • Texture: the lotion is lightweight but is very good at keeping my skin from dehydrating without being oily
  • Scent: very light fragrance. Hard for me to place but there’s no lingering
  • Efficacy: As evidenced by me using it for months, this is a great lotion. For dry skin lotion is a nice way to build up that moisture retention before adding a cream. This one I really liked because it works well under makeup if you’re not wanting to use a cream but are worried about your skin drying out.

Ingredients on CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water ‧Solvent
1
Glycerin ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Dipropylene glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1
Olivoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
1
Cetearyl Alcohol ‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Glyceryl oleate ‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Glyceryl Stearate ‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
Potassium Sorbate ‧Preservative
3
Sodium Benzoate ‧Preservative
3
Potassium Hydroxide ‧pH Adjusters
3
Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil ‧Plant extract
PEG-100 Stearate ‧Surfactant 1 0
3
Butylene Glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Hydrogenated Polydecene
2
Limnanthes Alba Seed Oil ‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Glyceryl Stearate SE ‧Emulsifier 3 2
1
Stearic Acid ‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 0
1
Vitis Vinifera Seed Oil ‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Emollient
1
Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract
1
Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract
1
Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract
Angelica Gigas Root Extract
1
Cnidium Monnieri Fruit Extract ‧Moisturizer
‧Plant extract
Forsythia Suspensa Fruit Extract ‧Antioxidant
1
Lithospermum Erythrorhizon Root Extract
1
Sanguisorba Officinalis Root Extract
1
Xanthium Strumarium Fruit Extract
1
Astragalus Membranaceus Root Extract ‧Emollient
1
Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract ‧Moisturizer
‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Astringent
1
Coptis Chinensis Root Extract ‧Antioxidant
1
1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent
1
Portulaca Oleracea Extract
1
Centella Asiatica Extract ‧Anti-inflammatory
1
Disodium EDTA
1
Allantoin ‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Anti-allergic
0 0
1
Xanthan Gum ‧Viscosity Control
1
Tocopheryl Acetate ‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
0 0
3
Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/
VP Copolymer
‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
1
Acrylates/
C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer
‧Viscosity Control
1
Lavandula Angustifolia Oil ‧Fragrance
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Ceramide 3 ‧Moisturizer
1
Chamomilla Recutita Flower Extract
1
Vitis Vinifera Seed Oil ‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Biosaccharide Gum-1 ‧Moisturizer
1

Star Ingredients as listed on Kokofash

 Jacho (자초: Lithospermum Erythrorhizon Root ): 

1. Heals Jaundice, baby boils & ageing spot.

2. detox by promoting blood circulation.

Dangqui (당귀: Korean Angelica): 

1. Help pus/skin trouble to get easily extrude.

2. Promote skin’s radiance. 

3. Help produce new blood

Yugeunpi (유근피: Elm tree / Ulmus Davidiana root): 

1. Help reduce puffiness

2. Reduce insomnia, sinus, ageing spot & freckles.

For  Elm tree and Angelica I did find a nice review which included some scientific references for Elm tree in treatment of dermatitis and angelica in treatment of alopecia and psoriasis. Link below

Shenefelt PD. Herbal Treatment for Dermatologic Disorders. In: Benzie IFF, Wachtel-Galor S, editors. Herbal Medicine: Biomolecular and Clinical Aspects. 2nd edition. Boca Raton (FL): CRC Press/Taylor & Francis; 2011. Chapter 18. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK92761/

Unfortunately for Jacho/Lithospermum I was only able to find research backing it’s moisturizing capability. This doesn’t mean that it won’t heal jaundice or spots, I just don’t have any evidence for it having the effect in standard research models

Atoclassic Real Tonic Calming Intensive Cream

I seriously can't get over the packaging

I seriously can’t get over the packaging

16-08-17-16-44-43-409_deco

  • Color: white
  • Texture: thick cream
  • Scent: very faint herbal scent, pretty much the same as the lotion
  • Efficacy: this is heavier than the lotion, so for my dry skin I could use this day and night. But it is slightly oilier than the lotion so if you’re planning on full coverage makeup then you might want to skip this since I feel like the lotion will be enough to keep you hydrated.

16-08-17-16-45-56-059_deco

Ingredients on CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Dipropylene glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Betaine

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Butyrospermum Parkii Butter

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Hydrogenated vegetable oil

‧Emollient 3 0-1
1
Lecithin

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil

‧Plant extract
Cetearyl Glucoside

‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
‧Emulsifier
1
Glyceryl Stearate

‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
PEG-100 Stearate

‧Surfactant 1 0
3
Vitis Vinifera Seed Oil

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract

‧Fragrance
‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Emollient
1
Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract

1
Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract

1
Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract

Angelica Gigas Root Extract

1
Cnidium Monnieri Fruit Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Plant extract
Forsythia Suspensa Fruit Extract

‧Antioxidant
1
Lithospermum Erythrorhizon Root Extract

1
Sanguisorba Officinalis Root Extract

1
Xanthium Strumarium Fruit Extract

1
Astragalus Membranaceus Root Extract

‧Emollient
1
Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Astringent
1
Coptis Chinensis Root Extract

‧Antioxidant
1
Trehalose

‧Moisturizer
1
Beeswax

‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
0-2 0-2
1
Tri-C14-15 Alkyl Citrate

‧Emollient
1
Hydrogenated Polydecene

2
Limnanthes Alba Seed Oil

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Imperata Cylindrica root extract

‧Moisturizer
1
Viscum Album Leaf Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
1
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Stearic Acid

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 0
1
Polyacrylate-13

2
Polyisobutene

‧Viscosity Control
1
Polysorbate 20

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
0 0
3
Caprylic/capric glycerides

‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Citrus Paradisi Fruit Extract

2
Caprylyl Glycol

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Panthenol

‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
0 0
1
Lavandula Angustifolia Oil

‧Fragrance
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Potassium Hydroxide

‧pH Adjusters
3
Disodium EDTA

1
Ceramide 3

‧Moisturizer
1

Star Ingredients from Kokofash

 Jacho (자초: Lithospermum Erythrorhizon Root ): 

1. Heals Jaundice, baby boils & ageing spot.

2. detox by promoting blood circulation.

Dangqui (당귀: Korean Angelica): 

1. Help pus/skin trouble to get easily extrude.

2. Promote skin’s radiance.

3. Help produce new blood

Yugeunpi (유근피: Elm tree / Ulmus Davidiana root): 

1. Help reduce puffiness

2. Reduce insomnia, sinus, ageing spot & freckles.

So these are the same as the lotion. Which means I should get to my favorites

My favorites and final thoughts

one serving/pump of each of the products

one serving/pump of each of the products

16-08-17-17-04-18-043_deco

So I was able to try the Cleanser, Essence, Lotion and Cream; all of which had some of the most sleek, modern and elegant packaging

16-08-17-14-55-41-165_deco

My number 1 pick out of the entire line is the Cleanser. The price per ml is not terrible to me, but it is at least double what I pay for most cleansers.

I will say that this is lasting a very long time. Long enough that it is something I would purchase to keep it on hand since it is very gentle and I love the pump and the packaging.

Runner Up

This was tough, becuase the cream is quite nice and oily, but the price per ml for the lotion is to be a better value (as well as closer to what I tend to pay for emulsions/lotions).

So I’m going to go with the Lotion as my second favorite item. If I wasn’t a beauty blogger this lotion is something I would repurchase since it works so well as a daytime moisturizer even without cream.

The Cream I do like to, but I feel like with the overabundance of creams in the US market, that the lotion would be the more cost effective product especially since the cream has the same star ingredients. BUT if you do have very dry skin, then you will appreciate the added oils.

The only product that didn’t seem to do much was the essence. Now this is why in the beginning I mentioned who this product line is targeted for, people with inflammatory skin issues.

Who would I recommend this line to?

Basically two groups: the first are people who have eczema or inflammatory skin issues that are looking for gentle products that will provide lots of hydration and the second being people who are interested in Hanbang but prefer their products be lightly scented (aka not to be dripping in ginseng aroma).

***

Lastly a special thank you to Kokofash.com for providing these free to review

Cheers



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *