It’s Skin Prestige Creme D’Escargot and Creme Ginseng D’Escargot Comparison Review

I did a thing

 

In the tru spirit of #yoloswag420blazeit360noscope I bought both the @its.skin PRESTIGE Crème D’escargot and Crème Ginseng D’escargot (also because I got a killer deal) . . . I wanted to compare both creams so I’ll be using the white snail for 2 weeks and then switch over to the ginseng + ? for 2 weeks. And since I have dry skin this means that I’ll be using the creams twice a day. . . Has anyone else used these before? . . . #itsskin #rasianbeauty #asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #instablogger #instablogging #instabeautyblogging #beautyblogger #beautyblogging #blogger #instaskincare #skincare #스킨케어 #코스매틱 #뷰티 #cream #ginseng #snail #달팽이 #moisturize #hydration #natural #naturalskincare #herbal #naturalcosmetic

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on


Which actually occured months beforehand. Back in April on my first New York excursion I was in Skylake which is the TINIEST store in any of the Korea towns. Now I ALWAYS stop by, since they carry more than just Skylake, they often carry some brands that are more popular in Korea like It’s Skin. There they had the Prestige Snail cream on sale for like 50 dollars I think. I tried it on my hand and it felt nice buuuuut I was in love with the packaging.

16-09-16-15-51-02-270_deco

GAD just look at them @_@

Being a Global Interpark stalker I saw these on Sale

The Snail was $32 dollars and the Ginseng was only 5 dollars more, with free shipping

I think only my close friends could understand what type of psychological torment I was putting myself through. I always have enough creams to use, but this packaging tho. Omg.

IT'S HUGE. IT'S HEAVY. IT'S ACRYLIC.

IT’S HUGE. IT’S HEAVY. IT’S ACRYLIC.

I LIVE FOR PACKAGING. Anyone who visits my home can see that I will keep jars and bottles if their packing is unique… luxe and heavy. I don’t even feel the need to re-porpoise them most of the time. They’re just like, vanity art or in my case, shelf art.

So I finally bit the bullet and ordered both because I had a stress dream that they sold out on global interpark which meant I would have to pay more either through some other online retailer or trudging may way back up to NYC.

16-09-16-15-51-42-873_deco

So let’s get into the review & comparison

What was the plan

I like to test creams if they have brightening claims for a month, but since these are from the same brand and line I figure this is going to be sufficient to use each one for two weeks straight. And since I use a cream in the AM/PM I’d say I had a pretty good sense of how each cream functions

  • Weeks 1 & 2 use the white snail cream
  • Weeks 3 & 4 use the red ginseng snail cream

 

Product Claims (from the boxes)

  • Creme D’Escargot – you get 60ml

    • Main points
      • Firming Care Program
      • Brightens & Wrinkle Care Program
      • Soothing Care Program
      • Smooth & Moisturizing Care Program
    • Containing snail secretion filtrate (mucin) 21% is good skin management system and it gives moisture and soothing effect
    • Prestige D’Escargot is the premium line and provides multi-solutins for beautiful skin by containing snail secretion filtrate (mucin) as a main ingredient. Prestige Creme D’Escargot makes your skin elastic, soft and healthy
  • Creme Ginseng D’Escargot you get 60ml

    • Main points
      • Firming Care Program
      • Brightens & Wrinkle Care Program
      • Soothing Care Program
      • Smooth & Moisturizing Care Program
    • Containing snail secretion filtrate (mucin) 21% is good skin management system and it gives moisture and soothing effect. Panax ginseng root extract makes its own natural skin healthy
    • Prestige Ginseng D’Escargot is the premium line and provides multi-solutions for beautiful skin by containing snail secretion filtrate “mucin” and panax ginseng root extract as main ingredients. Prestige Creme Ginseng D’Escargot provides benefits of skincare with a nutrition formula of rich texture while giving intensive moisturizing effect
Let this Giant Ruby provide you with mositure

Let this Giant Ruby provide you with mositure

 

Ingredients

I entered both ingredient lists from the boxes into CosDNA since I noticed there were some order differences in the submissions.

It’s Skin Prestige D’Escargot manufactured 01/14/2016

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Snail Secretion Filtrate

1
Phenyl Trimethicone

‧Antistatic
1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Glycereth-26

‧Moisturizer
1
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Butyrospermum Parkii

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Arbutin

‧Whitening
1
Hydrogenated polyisobutene

‧Emollient
1
Cetearyl Glucoside

‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
‧Emulsifier
1
PEG-100 Stearate

‧Surfactant 1 0
3
Tocopheryl Acetate

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
0 0
3
Sodium Polyacrylate

‧Viscosity Control
3
Betula Alba Bark Extract

‧Fragrance
2
Tricholoma Matsutake Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Ethylhexyl stearate

‧Emollient
1
Opuntia Tuna Fruit Extract

1
Carbomer

‧Viscosity Control 0 1
1
Porphyra Yezoensis Extract

1
Malt Extract

1
Adenosine

1
Caramel

‧Pigment
1
BHT

‧Preservative
6
Disodium EDTA

1
Trideceth-6

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
1
Yellow 5

‧Pigment
3
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

‧Moisturizer
1
Chlorphenesin

‧Preservative
2
Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract

‧Moisturizer
1
Figure I could break up the spreadsheets with some product butts

Figure I could break up the spreadsheets with some product butts

It’s Skin Prestige Creme Ginseng D’Escargot manufactured 02/17/2016

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Panax Ginseng Root Extract

‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Snail Secretion Filtrate

1
Water

‧Solvent
1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride

‧Fragrance
1
Pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate

‧Surfactant
‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Limnanthes Alba Seed Oil

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Butyrospermum Parkii

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Cetyl palmitate

‧Emollient
1
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Niacinamide

1
Octyldodecanol

‧Solvent
‧Fragrance
‧Emulsifier
1
Glyceryl Stearate

‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
PEG-100 Stearate

‧Surfactant 1 0
3
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Betaine

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Cetearyl Glucoside

‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
‧Emulsifier
1
Tricholoma Matsutake Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Ethyl Hexanediol

‧Solvent
‧Fragrance
3
Polyacrylate-13

2
Opuntia tuna

Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4
Malt Extract

1
Polyisobutene

‧Viscosity Control
1
Cetyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
2 2
1
Glyceryl caprylate

‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Xanthan Gum

‧Viscosity Control
1
Porphyra Yezoensis Extract

1
Tocopheryl Acetate

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
0 0
3
Caramel

‧Pigment
1
Adenosine

1
Polysorbate 20

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
0 0
3
BHT

‧Preservative
6
Disodium EDTA

1
Red 33

‧Pigment 1 0
2
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

‧Moisturizer
1
Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract

‧Moisturizer
1
moar butts

moar butts

And when we compare the two

Crème D’Escargot Crème Ginseng D’Escargot
Water panax ginseng root extract
Snail Secretion Filtrate snail secretion filtrate
Phenyl Trimethicone water
Sodium Hyaluronate glycerin
Dimethicone caprylic/capric triglyceride
Glycereth-26 pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate
Cetearyl Alcohol limnanthesalbaseedoil
Butyrospermum parkii butyrospermum parkii
arbutin butylene glycol
hydrogenated polyisobutene cetearyl alcohol
cetearyl glucoside cetyl palmitate
PEG-100 Stearate dimethicone
Tocopheryl Acetate niacinamide
Sodium polyacrylate octyldodecanol
Betula Alba Bark Extract glyceryl stearate
Tricholoma matsutake extract PEG-100 stearate
ethylhexyl stearate sodium hyaluronate
opuntia tuna fruit extract betaine
carbomer cetearyl glucoside
porphyra yezoensis extract tricholoma matsutake extract
malt extract ethyl hexanediol
adenosine polyacrylate-13
caramel optuntia tuna fruit extract
bht fragrance
disodium edta malt extract
trideceth-6 polyisobutene
yellow 5 cetyl alcohol
acetyl hexapeptide-8 glyceryl caprylate
chlorphenesin xanthan gum
pseudoalteromonas ferment extract porphyra yezoensis extract
tocopheryl acetate
caramel
adenosine
polysorbate 20
bht
disodium edta
red 33
acetyl hexapeptide-8
pseudoalteromonas ferment extract

What did we learn

  • There are 19 ingredients that these two creams share
  • Water
    Snail Secretion Filtrate
    Sodium Hyaluronate
    Dimethicone
    Cetearyl Alcohol
    Butyrospermum parkii
    cetearyl glucoside
    PEG-100 Stearate
    Tocopheryl Acetate
    Tricholoma matsutake extract
    opuntia tuna fruit extract
    porphyra yezoensis extract
    malt extract
    adenosine
    caramel
    bht
    disodium edta
    acetyl hexapeptide-8

    Pseudoalteromonas Ferment extract

  • The Snail Cream has 30 total ingredients
    • These are the ingredients unique to it (11 total)
    • Phenyl Trimethicone
      Glycereth-26
      arbutin
      hydrogenated polyisobutene
      Sodium polyacrylate
      Betula Alba Bark Extract
      ethylhexyl stearate
      carbomer
      trideceth-6
      yellow 5
      chlorphenesin
  • The Ginseng Snail Cream has 39 total ingredients
    • These are the ingredients unique to it (20 total)
    • panax ginseng root extract
      glycerin
      caprylic/capric triglyceride
      pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate
      limnanthes alba seed oil
      butylene glycol
      cetyl palmitate
      niacinamide
      octyldodecanol
      glyceryl stearate
      betaine
      ethyl hexanediol
      polyacrylate-13
      fragrance
      polyisobutene
      cetyl alcohol
      glyceryl caprylate
      xanthan gum
      polysorbate 20
      red 33

 If we ignore all the basic moisturizers/ingredients and focus on the extracts or what I see most people look to for brightening and other benefits on top of hydration we are left with:

  • Snail Cream Star/Unique Ingredients
    • Arbutin – brightening
    • Betula alba bark extract – birch extract used topically as an anti-inflammatory
  • Snail Ginseng Cream Star/Unique Ingredients
    • Panax Ginseng Root Extract – for skin nutrition, I haven’t looked into research for it’s benefits skincare-wise but I eat it in food and teas since I’m Korean
    • Limnanthes alba seed oil – meadowform seed oil, I think it’s mostly for skin conditioning
    • Niacinamide – a B vitamin known to brighten

Not that different right? That is why I was okay testing these for only two weeks apiece since they’re formula isn’t that wildly different but there are some functional differences

I’ll be noting the the differences & similarities in the picture captions

16-09-17-12-34-44-422_deco

Ok so there is a color difference

Scent: They both have a similar scent, that is kind of like Pantene/Finesse Shampoo/Conditioner Scent. Essentially a soft floral perfume.

Scent: They both have a similar scent, that is kind of like Pantene/Finesse Shampoo/Conditioner Scent. Essentially a soft floral perfume. I will say that the white one is more scented than the red one.

For snail creams these are very very not snaily. Most snail creams are stringy. These are more buttery. Like butter made from a cow's milk that's left at room temperature aka 25 degrees Celsius

For snail creams these are very very not snaily. Most snail creams are stringy. These are more buttery. Like butter made from a cow’s milk that’s left at room temperature aka 25 degrees Celsius

They both apply the same and the more the apply the more occlusive they become

They both apply the same

As you spread them out they both become more slippery/watery

As you spread them out they both become more slippery/watery

The finishes I find a little different. I feel like the ginseng cream leaves a slightly more oily finish. Not super slippery, but very slightly tacky. The more you apply of each the more occlusive they become

The finishes I find a little different. I feel like the ginseng cream leaves a slightly more oily finish. Not super slippery, but very slightly tacky. The more you apply of each the more occlusive they become

TLDR

Before I give my final review

My skin type

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • Having containers that match my swagger

***

  • Main differences
    • The snail cream and and ginseng cream have basically the same generic shampoo/conditioner scent but the snail cream is more fragranced
    • They both have a similar buttery texture but the ginseng cream leaves a tackier finish
    • I found the snail cream to hydrate just a touch better than the ginseng cream
  • Did they live up to their claims?
    • Firming Care Program
      • I didn’t notice any additional firming
    • Brightens & Wrinkle Care Program
      • I didn’t notice any additional brightening and I don’t have wrinkles
    • Soothing Care Program
      • I had nothing to smooth
    • Smooth & Moisturizing Care Program
      • Still nothing to smooth, but I would say they’re both moisturizing
  • Do they live up to their packaging?
    • I don’t think so. I didn’t find them any extra special or miss them after I switched to other moisturizers. They’re better than drug store creams and have a nice buttery texture but I don’t find them any more magical than other 20 dollar creams that I use.
  • Ragrets?
    • None. I bought these mostly for the packaging. #noragretshere Well, I do regret that the ginseng one doesn’t smell like ginseng.
  • Which one do I like better?
    • I prefer the plain snail. I know know, I’m losing Korean points here. It’s mostly the finish and that it just feels a tad more hydrating than the ginseng version.

So if you’re interested in purchasing these, you can sometimes find them in stores but they’ll usually run you somewhere around 50-80 dollars and you’ll have to go to a Korean market. The cheapest way to get this by ordering from Korea.

  • As mentioned before I ordered mine via Global interpark, they are a little confusing/tedius since you order one item at a time. The shipping was also quite slow it took me about 3 weeks to get the one cream and 4 weeks to get the other (even though I ordered them on the same day) the tracking was also inconsistent, but once it hit the states things seemed to catch up
    • The white cream was 32 and the red cream was 37
  • The next shop which I have ordered from and they also offer free shipping is bbcosmetic.com the creams are a little bit more, but I have an 8% discount code here Y0T764O6CM you can use to bring the price down a few bucks aaand you can use this code as many times as you like (I don’t get money if you use this code). Also their shipping to the US is pretty fast my last order only took 4 days.
    • The white cream is 40 and the red cream is 43 pre-discount

Even though I didn’t find these to be my skincare holy grail, maybe you will. Everyone has different skin and who knows, this could give you some boosted swagger. At least you’ll have a beautiful jar to show off

Cheers

 




One Comment

  1. Containers to match your swagger should be at the top of everyone’s product wish list! And they are super pretty, even if the insides didn’t match. At least you’ll be able to repurpose the containers into something useful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *