Klairs Mid Day Blue Sun Lotion Review

Back in September Wishtrend and Klairs via Wishtrend’s youtube channel provided the opportunity for 20 beauty testers to try out the new Klairs mid day blue sun lotion. Since I’m always on the lookout for the next most comfortable and high SPF sunscreen I applied. And about 4 weeks ago this sunscreen finally arrived

 

Oh light colors, the bane of my picture taking existence. Anyway I’m pumped to finally have a @klairs.global product from @wishtrend and that’s it’s a sunscreen, since I’m all about testing sunscreens. (Anyone else out there a tester too?) I got this yesterday and figure some first impressions were in order . . . 1. SPF rating : 40 PA++ 2. Color: powder blue 3. Texture: watery mousse 4. Scent: it’s very lightly scented, but I’m getting star anise, like a faint light licorice scent 5. Cast: yes there is a bit of a cast which I pretty much expect from any spf that’s 40 or above, but I don’t feel like it’s exceptionally white . . . . . #sponsored#klairs #wishtrend #sun #sunblock #spf #uv #rasianbeauty #asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #instablogging #instabeautyblogging #instablogger #instablog #instabeautyblogging #beautyblogger #instabeauty #instaskincare #skincare #makeup #makeupaddict #스킨케어 #코스매틱 #뷰티 #natural #naturalcosmetic #lifestyle

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on

Brand Background: Klairs

I wasn’t super familiar with Klairs at the time; I knew that Wishtrend carried them and that the formulations tended to be simple and better for sensitive skin. The following is right from their website

Klairs is

• Respectful of the beauty of the environment and carries healthy values regarding the earth
• Simple and contains only the most necessary ingredients (NO colorants, NO alcohol, NO parabens, NO artificial fragrances/fragrance free)
• Always working to bring their products to customers at reasonable prices
• A high-quality skincare brand for sensitive skin

캡처How Klairs Works

 Simple but enough.

The condition of your skin will always change depending on the weather and the body’s condition. Protect your skin with Klairs’ simple lineup that provides everything from cleansing and moisture to calming and soothing.

Basic but ultimate.

We take the time, no matter how long, to create the best simple products. Klairs is effective even without the addition of special, unique ingredients. Just by using our products every day, your skin will slowly get healthier.

 Mild but powerful.

Since 2009, we at Klairs have been researching different ingredients and raw materials for the best skincare for sensitive skin. Our products not only improve the skin’s elasticity, but also quickly soothes irritated skin for ultimately healthier and stronger skin.

Brand Philosophy

No harsh ingredients.

Klairs makes sure to create products with only the most effective, necessary raw ingredients, all of which have passed the safety measures of a research lab specializing in dermatologist brand skin care. We make sure our products don’t contain components that can irritate sensitive skin.

No animal testing.

Since our foundation in 2009, we have not tested on animals. We don’t believe in harming animals for our cosmetic purposes and we are working to putting down animal testing.

High quality. Reasonable prices.

Rather than conducting costly PR and marketing, the Klairs name has been spread through satisfied customer reviews and word-of-mouth. We will always continue doing our best to provide the highest quality products to our customers for a fair price.

Overall nice points and beliefs which I appreciate them sharing in English. Makes me want to try more Klairs products

but back to the sunscreen

16-10-24-16-52-59-777_deco

So you can have a frame of reference

My skin type

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
  • Concerns
    • a few pronounced sebaceous filaments on the nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • preventing cancer
    • not being chokchok enough

16-10-24-16-53-27-926_deco

What’s this sunscreen about?

According to the Wishtrend Website, this sunscreen provides the following benefits

  • It provides both UV protection & Heat Protection
  • Maintains moisture and clears skin with heat protection
  • Soothes damaged skin from sun and external heat
  • the peaceful blue color helps your skin to be light skin toned
  • moisturizes without stickiness

The Key ingredient mentioned is Guiazulene :

The Mid-day Blue Sun Lotion has a light blue color as it is formulated with Guaiazulene, which acts as a natural dye and boasts soothing qualities. This makes it great for correcting redness and evening out the skin tone.

What’s inside?

You can find the ingredients on the Wishtrend Listing or you can check out this sweet cosDNA analysis

Ingredient Function UV Acne Irritant Safety
Water ‧Solvent
1
Cyclopentasiloxane ‧Solvent
‧Emollient
3
Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate ‧Sunscreen 0 0
6
Butylene Glycol ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Titanium Dioxide ‧Pigment
‧Sunscreen
0 0
1
~
3
Glycerin ‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Cetyl Ethylhexanoate ‧Synthetic ester
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
1
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride ‧Fragrance
1
Niacinamide
1
Polysorbate 60 ‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
3
Zinc Oxide ‧Astringent
‧Sunscreen
1 0
2
~
3
Isoamyl p-methoxycinnamate ‧Sunscreen
1
Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate ‧Sunscreen
2
Hydrolyzed collagen ‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
0 0
1
Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine ‧Sunscreen
1
Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/
1 dimethicone
‧Emulsifier
3
Chlorphenesin ‧Preservative
2
Xanthan Gum ‧Viscosity Control
1
Arginine ‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Sodium Hyaluronate ‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Panthenol ‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
0 0
1
Betaine ‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Acrylates/
C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer
‧Viscosity Control
1
Lactobacillus ferment
1
Panax Ginseng Root Extract ‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Fragrance ‧Fragrance
1
~
4
Adenosine
1
Disodium EDTA
1
Guaiazulene ‧Pigment
1
~
4
Paeonia Lactiflora Root Extract
1
Centella Asiatica Extract ‧Anti-inflammatory
1
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 ‧Moisturizer
1
Lecithin ‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
1
Acetyl Glutamine ‧Emollient
1
Caprylyl Glycol ‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent
1
SH-Oligopeptide- 1 no matched results
SH-Oligopeptide- 2 no matched results
SH-Polypeptide-1 no matched results
SH-Polypeptide- 9 no matched results
SH-Polypeptide- 11 no matched results
Bacillus/Soybean/Folic Acid Ferment Extract no matched results

Aside from the formulation looking a little like a lotion with all the plant extracts and extra bonuses the Sun filters being used are

  • Inorganic Sunscreens (Physical)
    • Titanium Dioxide
    • Zinc Oxide
  • Organic Sunscreens (Chemical)
    • Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate
    • Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate
    • Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine

Which are all contributing to the SPF rating of 40 PA++

16-10-24-16-57-02-758_deco

My Experience

When I first received this I was a bit worried from the mousse texture. Since some brands in the past that I’ve tried who were kind of a whipped cream/mousse texture tend to pill on me. When I started patch testing this on the sides of my face, neck and wrist I did notice some pilling of the sunscreen. The next day after my patch testing period was over and I had no reaction, I applied it after my usual long routine (which ends in a lotion and cream) and decided to try applying it while the cream was a little wet. That seemed to be the ticket to ensuring that the sunscreen didn’t have the pilling interation.

  • Texture: whip cream
  • Scent: I smell star anise, it’s very unique and kinda cool. Makes me want pho
  • Does it keep skin cool?
    • I didn’t notice any minty feeling or any additional cool feeling
  • Does it help against redness?
    • Due to the slight blue tone it definitely help diminish any flushing
  • Tacky?
    • No, it forms a hydrating layer but for me has a velvety finish like the Biore watery essence, but doesn’t rub off as easily
  • White Cast?
    • Yes definitely. It’s even mentioned on Wishtrend that its probably best to test it on tan skin tones before buying. I think that it might be too white of a cream for very pigmented skin.
  • Finish: It tends to be a little more matte on me, but doesn’t have the dryness generally associated with matte finishes

Comparisons

16-10-24-21-16-40-246_deco

In terms of texture, this reminds me most of the Kicho Ultra Moisturizing Sun Cream. I prefer the Klairs to the Kicho since I still haven’t figured out how to make the Kicho work without pilling/separating on top of my cream.

16-10-24-21-18-42-802_deco
In terms of Brightening it kind of reminds me of the Pink hued sunscreens from Biore and Missha
16-10-24-21-20-03-588_deco
Although I will say that the Klairs is definitely more Brightening than the Biore/Missha/Kicho

Final Thoughts

16-10-24-17-15-43-665_deco

I like this sunscreen and I feel like I will like it even more in the winter since it’s more moisturizing and my lighter skin tone will match up with the brightening more. I was so glad that I could even wear my IOPE or Missha BB cream over it and it didn’t react at all. No pilling even when sandwiched between moisturizer and foundation is the ultimate test, at least for me.

I think that medium and dark skin tones will probably have an issue with the white cast, and I don’t think that using a sunscreen sparingly to avoid a white cast is a good option. So this might be too brightening for darker tones.

Overall, I enjoyed trying this out and will keep using it happily.

If you’re interested in purchasing this, you can buy it for 20USD from Wishtrend.com

 




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *