Maricle Marine Pure Collagen 24K Gold Snail Essence Review

MiniB Beauty’s Social Media Campaign reached out to me asking if I was interested in reviewing this brand and I decided to try out the following essence (check out their instagram @minibbeauty).

16-07-30-18-43-09-977_deco

Brand Background

Maricle is a Korean brand which focuses on its use of Marine Collagen in its products

marinecollagen

16-07-30-22-18-57-933_deco

What I found most interesting in looking at the marine collagen ingredient was that in some cosmetics I see it advertised as being from kelp, but for Maricle, they have chosen to use it from marine animals. At first some of you might consider this something similar to the use of horse fat in cosmetic applications or perhaps pig collagen. What I found was that marine collagen can be isolated from the skin, scales and fins of fish – what would be considered the waste or as I would call it, the ‘leftovers’ of human fish consumption (1). As a person who hasn’t moved to a vegetarian diet, I like to see that ALL parts of the animals I consume can be used, as to diminish the waste. This is also why I am not above eating hot dogs or jello #responsible

The Product: Maricle Marine Pure Collagen 24K Gold Snail Essence

goldsnail

My Experience

But first My Skin type in case my side-bar isn’t visible

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • preventing cancer

16-07-30-20-14-23-265_deco

Packaging: This comes in a clear plastic airless pump bottle with gold accents. I’m 100% a fan of putting gold on things because I’m secretly stuck in the 80s and was clearly over-influenced by brass fixtures in 1990’s American housing developments. And even though I do like me a dropper bottle, airless pumps are the way to go: they diminish the amount of oxygen a product encounters which keeps it fresher and helps eliminate air and human contact which can lead to increased bacterial and fungal contamination. The airless pump is probably also lending itself well to product protection since it is Paraben free and also seems to not have any other preservatives (but this is according to cosDNA).

Scent: I couldn’t detect any

How long did I use this? 21 days, which is not quite long enough for me to do a thorough assessment of claims as I prefer to test any product that has a brightening/whitening claim for at least 30 days

Claims

  • Wrinkle improvement: Since collagen is a humectant, I would expect that for people with fine lines and shallow wrinkles this would provide some temporary improvement. I do not have wrinkles, which is unfortunate for testing, but I would say that this essence was plumping for my skin.
  • Whitening (Brightening for those of us in the US markets): as aforementioned I didn’t have quite enough time to test this product for 30 days, which is approximately how long it takes for our skin to turnover and we can start to see a diminishment in PIH/hyperpigmentation/brightening effects. I would say that it’s effect was similar to the Benton snailbee high content essence which was mostly around ‘evening’ the skin tone. This lends me to believe that over time I might see some brightening effect.

Texture: This was a lightweight clear gel, that actually kind of melts on contact with warm skin. Basically it sort of slides around on its own. Any gel that becomes very watery I like very much. Because as a dry skinned person I need to layer products and usually thick gels mess up application of creamier ingredients later on.

16-07-30-19-41-36-698_deco

I love airless pumps

16-07-30-19-13-28-805_deco

I know my freckles will be distracting but there’s plenty of gold flakes in each pump for that extra luxuriant experience

Gold: yes there’s gold. I mean it doesn’t do much aside from look swaggy and make it seem like I naturally produce gold freckles. I’m 100% fine with gold in my skincare so long as it doesn’t jack up the price too high or detract from good ingredients

Ingredients

As always I take the liberty of adding the ingredients to CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Snail Secretion Filtrate

1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Niacinamide

1
Propylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
0 0
3
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Panax Ginseng Root Extract

‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
1
Hydrolyzed collagen

‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
0 0
1
Portulaca Oleracea Extract

1
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

‧Moisturizer
1
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4

‧Moisturizer
1
Ganoderma Lucidum Stem Extract

1
Centella Asiatica Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
1
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Astringent
‧Sunscreen
2
Cordyceps Sinensis Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
1
Bacillus/
Soybean Ferment Extract

Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract

1
Pulsatilla Koreana Extract

1
Usnea Barbata Extract

1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Carbomer

‧Viscosity Control 0 1
1
Tromethamine

‧pH Adjusters
2
PPG-2-Deceth-12

‧Emulsifier
Beta-Glucan

‧Anti-allergic
1
Allantoin

‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Anti-allergic
0 0
1
Adenosine

1
Disodium EDTA

1
Citrus Aurantium Bergamia Fruit Oil

‧Fragrance
1
Gold

(0.006%)caprylhydrox
‧Pigment
4
1,2-Hexanediol

‧Solvent
1
Ethyl Hexanediol

‧Solvent
‧Fragrance
3

It has snail at 22%, ginseng, hyaluronic acid, lots of soothing herbal extracts and some that I’m not as familiar with. But what I was actually most interested in for probably the first time in my life, was not the ingredients so much as a potential alternate application.

How I used the 24K gold snail essence

I started out by applying it to my face, morning and night in the same manner I would apply any essence which is after cleansing, toning and any actives or first treatment essences.

 

Thursday morning routine . . . ▫Atoclassic real tonic soothing multi cleanser ▫clabiane revitalizing toner ▫clabiane Anti-wrinkle hydro filler ▫manyofactory galactomyces niacin special treatment essence ▫purpletale setting the scene treatment essence ▫maricle 24k gold snail essence ▫manyofactory ultra moist spa ampoule ▫Atoclassic calming smart lotion ▫purpletale ode to hydration facial cream ▫missha essence sun milk . . . . #Cleanser #atoclassic #toner #clabiane #Active #fte #purpletale #maricle #snail #달팽이 #manyofactory #essence #ampoule #serum #lotion #cream #sunscreen #rasianbeauty #asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #한방 #hanbang #skincare #스킨 #스킨케어 #코스매틱 #뷰티

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on

But I began to experiment with it, using it in place of my makeup primer which is the Guerlain L’OR radiance concentrate with pure gold

16-07-30-19-11-52-709_deco

I’m really happy I got this in a destash. I don’t think I would be able to buy it on my own.

The Guerlain L’OR was actually one of the reasons I wanted to try the snail essence since, appearance wise they look quite similar. And then I remembered that NYX also made a primer (which is like a dupe of Guerlains)

So obviously I had to buy the NYX for blogging raisinz

So obviously I had to buy the NYX for blogging raisinz

16-07-30-18-48-17-735_deco

And when you look at them they’re all fairly similar with the exception that the nyx is much sticker than the Guerlain or Maricle and has less gold too. But the gold is mostly for fun. If you start to compare ingredients things get more interesting

Maricle Guerlain NYX
Ingredient Function Ingredient Function Ingredient Function
Water ‧Solvent Glyceryl acrylate/ ‧Viscosity Control Water ‧Solvent
Snail Secretion Filtrate acrylic acid copolymer ‧Moisturizer Glycerin ‧Solvent
Glycerin ‧Solvent Propylene Glycol ‧Solvent ‧Moisturizer
‧Moisturizer ‧Viscosity Control Alcohol Denat ‧Solvent
Niacinamide ‧Moisturizer Betaine ‧Viscosity Control
Propylene Glycol ‧Solvent Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/ ‧Surfactant ‧Antistatic
‧Viscosity Control VP Copolymer ‧Viscosity Control ‧Moisturizer
‧Moisturizer Fragrance ‧Fragrance Collagen Extract
Butylene Glycol ‧Solvent Portulaca Oleracea Extract
‧Moisturizer Hyaluronic Acid ‧Moisturizer
Panax Ginseng Root Extract ‧Emollient Polyvinyl Alcohol ‧Viscosity Control Bifida Ferment lysate
‧Plant extract ‧Emulsifier Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract
Hydrolyzed collagen ‧Antistatic Methylparaben ‧Preservative Jasminum Officinale Flower Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Moisturizer Imperata Cylindrica root extract ‧Moisturizer Lavandula Angustifolia Flower Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Emollient Cellulose gum ‧Viscosity Control ‧Plant extract
Portulaca Oleracea Extract Gold ‧Pigment Rosa Centifolia Flower Extract ‧Astringent
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 ‧Moisturizer Butylphenyl Methylpropional ‧Fragrance Lilium Tigrinum Flower/leaf/
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 ‧Moisturizer Propylparaben ‧Preservative stem Extract
Ganoderma Lucidum Stem Extract Linalool ‧Fragrance Iris Ensata Extract
Centella Asiatica Extract ‧Anti-inflammatory Citronellol ‧Fragrance Hibiscus Sabdariffa Flower Extract
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract ‧Moisturizer Alpha-isomethyl ionone ‧Fragrance Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract ‧Fragrance
‧Antioxidant Benzyl Benzoate ‧Solvent Allantoin ‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Emollient ‧Fragrance ‧Anti-allergic
‧Astringent Geraniol ‧Fragrance Caprylyl Glycol ‧Moisturizer
‧Sunscreen Carbomer ‧Viscosity Control ‧Emollient
Cordyceps Sinensis Extract ‧Moisturizer Rosa Centifolia Flower Extract ‧Astringent PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil ‧Surfactant
‧Antioxidant Hydrolyzed rice protein ‧Antistatic ‧Emulsifier
‧Emollient Ascorbic Acid ‧Antioxidant Carbomer ‧Viscosity Control
Bacillus/ ‧Whitening Sodium Polyacrylate ‧Viscosity Control
Soybean Ferment Extract Sodium Benzoate ‧Preservative 1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent
Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract Potassium Sorbate ‧Preservative Phenoxyethanol ‧Preservative
Pulsatilla Koreana Extract BHT ‧Preservative Potassium Hydroxide ‧pH Adjusters
Usnea Barbata Extract Butylparaben ‧Preservative Panthenol ‧Antistatic
Sodium Hyaluronate ‧Moisturizer Ethylparaben ‧Preservative ‧Moisturizer
Carbomer ‧Viscosity Control Isobutylparaben ‧Preservative Benzophenone-5 ‧Sunscreen
Tromethamine ‧pH Adjusters Disodium EDTA
PPG-2-Deceth-12 ‧Emulsifier Citronellol ‧Fragrance
Beta-Glucan ‧Anti-allergic Limonene ‧Solvent
Allantoin ‧Anti-inflammatory ‧Fragrance
‧Anti-allergic Geraniol ‧Fragrance
Adenosine Fragrance ‧Fragrance
Disodium EDTA
Citrus Aurantium Bergamia Fruit Oil ‧Fragrance
Gold ‧Pigment Gold ‧Pigment
(0.006%)caprylhydrox CI 15985 ‧Pigment
1,2-Hexanediol ‧Solvent CI 19140 ‧Pigment
Ethyl Hexanediol ‧Solvent Honey Extract/Mel Extract/Extrait de Miel
‧Fragrance

Links to ingredient lists on CosDNA for Guerlain & Nyx

16-07-30-18-50-24-405_deco

My friend destashed her guerlain primer to me, which is the only makeup primer I’ve been using. I’ve found it alright, it’s meant to retain moisture and plump skin. I really only find it lightly moisturizing and maybe slightly firming. I don’t think I’d buy it but it’s not bad at sort of being that barrier between moisturizer and makeup.

The Nyx is new to me and I already hate the packaging. I don’t understand how making the spatula built in so that you have to rub it on your skin… and then re-insert the bacteria laden paddle into the product was ever a good idea. I wish Nyx would make it an airless pump since this gel actually has some good ingredients and it’s sticky nature doesn’t work well with a paddle in my opinion.

In terms of ingredients, if you look, only the NYX and the Maricle have more ingredients meant to improve the condition of skin than additives. The guerlain to me really only has 5 out of the 27 total ingredients that I’d be looking to for skincare benefit. The rest of L’OR is filled with fragrance, preservatives and stabilizers/additives, of the three I’m fine with preservatives but when the price point is over 70 USD I’m expecting some more beneficial plant extracts. So that was surprising.

The Nyx Honey Dew Me Up’s ingredient list actually seems more like a serum/essence rather than a makeup primer. It does seem to work alright as a makeup base, but it’s sticky nature (at least for my skin) means I need to wait a little longer for it to dry down before I apply makeup.

Ok so Maricle. This is NOT A MAKEUP PRIMER… but I tried using it as a makeup primer over my moisturizers and wow, it makes a really nice hydrating primer. As a person with Dry skin, makeup and even BB creams can still dry my skin out. This usually leads to flakes or I can get a little bit oily. But not with this essence, it’s watery nature seems to work well at not only keeping my BBcream/foundation in place it ALSO kept my skin hydrated and dare I say plumped throughout the day. I wish I could show some pictures of my makeup over time but my camera… which is a part of my galaxy s4 has not been the best at taking high resolution up-close photos. So I guess all I can give is my experience. That I really really liked it as a makeup primer.

16-07-30-20-16-16-625_deco

Final Thoughts

  • Will I keep using this? Yes I actually will keep using this as a makeup primer, which I KNOW is not its intended purpose but it works SO WELL with BB creams
  • Who would I recommend this to
    • Anytime I find a gel product, I start sliding them towards my combo/oily skinned friends since gels tend to be wonderful light moisturizers for their skin types. But as an essence I think this would work very well across all skin types
    • Since the ingredients do target whitening/and plumping I’d say anyone who is in the market for those items should check it out.
    • …and of course anyone looking for a guerlain alternative

16-07-30-18-32-45-584_deco

 

Where can I get this?

Well to my knowledge they’re not currently distributing to the US, but have plans to. You can check out their website here: http://maricle.kr/

They also make a couple other products in this line

whiteningessence

cccream

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed this post

Cheers

 

Citations

  1. Mahboob, S. (2015). Isolation and characterization of collagen from fish waste material- skin, scales and fins of Catla catla and Cirrhinus mrigala. Journal of Food Science and Technology, 52(7), 4296–4305. http://doi.org/10.1007/s13197-014-1520-6
    1. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4486571/

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *