Mizon Pore Line Review + My favorite AHA

Coco decided to be in all the pictures today

Coco decided to be in all the pictures today

I’ve actually been holding onto some of these for years now. Well almost. Back in late October 2014, when I was still trying to nail down my skin type I found a Mizon set on eBay

  • It came with
    • Mizon Pore Cleanser
    • Mizon Pore Toner
    • Mizon Pore Lotion
    • Mizon Pore Refine Essence
  • All for $46.99 USD

What really sold me on this set, aside from the foam which was a repurchase. Was that the bottles were so cute AND they’re glass AND the seller was in the USA AND they had the 8% AHA peeling serum (which I paid 15.99 for, it was a little more than what I’d pay from like Roseroseshop)

You might be noticing that I’m missing the AHA/BHA toner but I was never super interested in it since this toner is also low pH, plus I had the wonder pore toner.

But maybe we should talk about why these bottle are still half full

It all has to do with me and figuring out my skin type. And it took me months and months of healing and testing and trying to figure out that: no I don’t have sensitive oily skin, rather my skin is dry and it did not have a good acid mantle and moisture barrier.  How did I know? Well I was moving from Olay products over to Korean beauty (which in my opinion caters to different skin types better). I knew I wanted to try an AHA to see if that would help me heal acne and better my skin texture, and this pore line seemed like it might be good for my possibly oily skin type. Well it still took me awhile to work through this line and figure out how to use an AHA, but this was the lineup that was critical to me finally realizing my skin needed oil and heavy moisture. I do think that parts of this line would work beautifully for oily skin since it features a wonderfully light essence and lotion that really do keep oiliness at bay. But if you’re dry skinned like me, I think there are better lineups out there.

My skin type

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • preventing cancer
    • making sure Coco is entertained

Let’s start with the cleanser

16-10-06-15-12-12-713_deco

Coco isn’t a fan of this

Mizon Pore Refine Deep Cleansing Foam

This minty cooling cleansing foam breaks up excess oil, dirt and dead skin cell that can clog and enlarge pore, while killing bacteria. Soothing botanical leave skin moisturized and smooth (taken from the box)

16-10-06-15-12-43-740_deco

Does anyone remember when Bath&Body Works had that cookies and Cream lip balm?

  • Pros
    • It has a lovely slightly minty smell
    • soft granular texture
    • foams up easily
    • looks kinda like cookies & cream icecream
  • Cons
    • High pH around 8/9

Since this is high pH I can really only recommend it to oily skin types or people looking to remove makeup and maybe waterproof sunscreen with only one cleanser. If you’re dry skinned like me, you’ll find that this will remove too much oil from the skin. So why do I have it still? Well my man likes it.

And in case you’re still interested, here’s the ingredients list from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Aqua

‧Solvent
1
Myristic acid

‧Fragrance
‧Emulsifier
3 0
1
Lauric Acid

‧Emulsifier 4 1
1
Stearic Acid

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 0
1
Potassium Hydroxide

‧pH Adjusters
3
Cocamidopropyl Betaine

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
4
Hydroxyethylcellulose

‧Viscosity Control
1
Charcoal powder

1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Beta-Glucan

‧Anti-allergic
1
Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit/
Leaf Extract

‧Astringent
‧Plant extract
Sugar Cane Extract

‧Moisturizer
1
Acer Saccharum Extract

‧Exfoliator
1
Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Fruit Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Lemon Fruit Extract

1
Arnica montana

‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Astringent
2
Artemisia Absinthium Extract

1
Achillea Millefolium Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
3
Gentiana Lutea Root Extract

1
Carica Papaya Fruit Extract

1
Gypsophila Paniculata Root Extract

1
Hedera Helix Extract

‧Astringent
‧Plant extract
1
Hydrolyzed Extensin

3
Collagen

‧Moisturizer
1
Disodium EDTA

1
Caprylyl Glycol

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Tropolone

1
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4
kaolin acid no matched results

16-10-06-14-49-31-333_deco

Mizon Pore Control Toner

It balances the skin’s pH level and helps prep the skin for next steps. This well loved toner from Korea helps bolster hydration while minimizing the appearance of enlarged pores. AHA/BHA compounds remove old skin waste that causes your skin to look dull while green tea and chamomile extracts keep your face looking vibrant and fresh. Ideal for all skin types, this product gently removes oil for fresh, non-greasy skin all day long. (taken from the target.com description)

Pros

  • Smells a little citrusey
  • It’s around a pH 4-5
  • Pump bottle makes it easy to apply toner either into the palm or on cotton
  • Actually contains some glycolic acid and salicylic acid so you can gently exfoliate with it alone

Cons

  • It’s a little pricey for the size at only 80ml I haven’t found it under 10 bucks, but I do get to keep a glass bottle
  • It does contain alcohol so if you’re sensitive to that then this is not the toner for you
I wish I kept the boxes boo

I wish I kept the boxes boo

And if you’d like to check the ingredients… from cosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Aqua

‧Solvent
1
Alcohol

‧Solvent
2
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Sodium Lactate

‧Moisturizer
4
PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil

‧Surfactant
3
Glycolic Acid

‧Exfoliator
‧Whitening
4
Salicylic Acid

‧Exfoliator
‧Whitening
4
Theobroma Cacao Extract

1
Copper Tripeptide-1

1
Collagen

‧Moisturizer
1
Chamomilla Recutita Flower/
leaf Extract

Carica Papaya Fruit Extract

1
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Astringent
‧Sunscreen
2
Disodium EDTA

1
Caprylyl Glycol

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Tropolone

1
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4

 

Look at this cute little bottle

Look at this cute little bottle

Mizon Pore Refine Silky Essence

Pore Refine Silky Essence 50 ml is formulated to tighten and smooth the look of pore-speckled skin to provide a wonderfully clear complexion. Follow your toner step with this popular silky essence from Korea as a first step to healthy, hydrated, non-greasy skin. Use twice daily to achieve your most ideal look: naturally glowing. Like the other products in the Mizon Pore line, Pore Refine Silky Essence is designed to minimize and tighten pores, improve your skin’s natural sebum control, and keep away flaky dead skin. (taken from the Target.com description)

Pros

  • Gives skin that velvety feel that isn’t so heavy as most silicone primers
  • actually absorbs into the skin, probably due to the alcohol
  • doesn’t have much of a scent maybe slightly citrusey/alcohol-ey

Cons

  • Not hydrating enough for very dry skin, but you can layer it with other products easily.
  • Is more of a serum than an essence due to it’s thickness

16-10-06-14-48-44-852_deco

And the ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Aqua

‧Solvent
1
Cyclopentasiloxane

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
3
Polysilicone-11

1
Cyclomethicone

‧Solvent
‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
0 0
2
Alcohol

‧Solvent
2
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Polysorbate 20

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
0 0
3
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Polyacrylate-13

2
Polyisobutene

‧Viscosity Control
1
Carbomer

‧Viscosity Control 0 1
1
Triethanol amine

‧pH Adjusters 2 0
5
Beta-Glucan

‧Anti-allergic
1
Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract

1
Perilla Frutescens Leaf Extract

‧Fragrance
1
Cornus Officinalis Fruit Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Juglans Regia Seed Extract

1
Copper Tripeptide-1

1
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
‧Emollient
‧Astringent
‧Sunscreen
2
Hedera Helix Extract

‧Astringent
‧Plant extract
1
Disodium EDTA

1
Caprylyl Glycol

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Tropolone

1
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4
Swatchies

Swatchies, they look almost identical

Mizon Pore Tightening Lotion (my top pick out of the line for oily skinned folks)

Pore Tightening Lotion 80 ml is a non-greasy water-based moisturizer from Korea that is especially formulated to help control sebum production and minimize enlarged pores like the rest of the Mizon pore line. Hydration is a big focus in Korean skincare, and this lotion meets high expectations among Korea’s skincare-savvy. Skin is more supple and lustrous as the skin is drenched with maple water, which absorbs easily through the skin barrier to moisturize from the inside out. The Pore Tightening Lotion is delightfully light and soft to the touch. Enjoy non-greasy hydration and achieve a healthier skin environment with this unique pore tightening lotion. (Taken from Target.com again since it’s kind of dramatic and I don’t have the box)

16-10-06-14-51-50-379_deco

Pros

  • I feel like this is the perfect lotion for oily oily skin
    • It has Kaolion clay in it
      • Witch Hazel
      • Willow Bark
      • Maple Tree and Ivy extract which are astringents
  • Its a very light watery lotion which isn’t very scented
  • This is my top pick out of the entire Line for oily skin types

Cons

  • The main things I could see bothering people are the alcohol and fragrance if you’re sensitive to those things. I could never really detect any scent and I’m not personally sensitive to alcohol.

Ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Aqua

‧Solvent
1
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Kaolin

0 0
1
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Polyacrylate-13

2
Polyisobutene

‧Viscosity Control
1
Polysorbate 20

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
0 0
3
Silica

‧Viscosity Control
Carbomer

‧Viscosity Control 0 1
1
Triethanol amine

‧pH Adjusters 2 0
5
Sclerotium Gum

‧Viscosity Control
1
Witch hazel Leaf Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Willow Bark Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Astringent
1
or Willow Bark Extract

1
Hydrolyzed Extensin

3
Carica Papaya Fruit Extract

1
Gypsophila Paniculata Root Extract

1
Hedera Helix Extract

‧Astringent
‧Plant extract
1
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water

‧Fragrance
1
Saccharum Officinarum Extract

‧Moisturizer
1
Acer Saccharum Extract

‧Exfoliator
1
Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Fruit Extract

‧Plant extract
1
Citrus Medica Limonum Fruit Extract

1
Copper Tripeptide-1

1
Iris Florentina Root Extract

Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Tropolone

1
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4
alcohol cyclomethicone no matched results
biosaccharidegum-1. Polysorbate 20 no matched results
vaccinum nyrtillus fruit/leaf extract no matched results
disdoiuum edta. Caprylyl glycol no matched results

Finally we get to what’s important

My First and Favorite Alpha Hydroxy Acid

The Mixon AHA 8% Peeling Serum

16-10-06-14-54-17-332_deco

Jaaang

Since I don’t have the box #worstbloggerever I had to go to Beautynetkorea to grab the Mizon description

ahapeelingserum

I feel like I should mention ways I used it incorrectly or at least… ineffectively before going into how and when I use AHA’s now

  • Back when I was experimenting with my face I’d do some odd things
    • usually it would surround putting this serum on before toning after using a high pH cleanser
      • ideally you’d use a cleanser… a toner fit to skin pH (around 4.5) and then use an acid
    • sometimes I’d put it on after the essence
      • why would I put it on over something else? who knows
    • And then I’d layer it over essence and Lotion… because I just really wanted it to not work at all

How and when I use an AHA now

My skin is dry and it turns over surprisingly quickly even without acids. What I mean is that I get flakes and can just rub off dead skin every few days. Its annoying and if I don’t keep on top of exfoliation I will get pimples. But more than at, it means my skin texture won’t be even and smooth like a dolphin. Enter the Alpha Hydroxy Acids.  I found that using an AHA just once a week helps me keep an even texture and I don’t feel like I’m having to physically exfoliate any more than I usually do, which is once/twice a week. Plus, AHA’s sensitize you to sunlight since they’re breaking down the uppermost layer of skin, so using it only once a week I feel less stressed about UV damage (I’ve heard AHA’s sensitize you for 7 Days, but I haven’t looked into it yet)

TL:DR

  • I use a high % AHA once a week
    • I use it at night usually on a Sunday/Monday
  • Where I fit it into my routine is
    • Double Cleanse
    • Tone
    • Vitamin C serum
      • wait 20mins or so
    • Use the AHA
      • wait 5-10 mins
    • Proceed with rest of routine

What’s this serum like?

  • Unscented, doesn’t smell when it’s drying (bonus)
  • Leaves a soft non-tacky finish
  • clear thin gel that is easy to apply and you don’t need a cotton pad
  • Day after using I experience very very smooth skin
  • A few days after using I can feel skin a little rough, but that’s the queue to do a manual/physical exfoliation

Ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Aqua

‧Solvent
1
Glycolic Acid

‧Exfoliator
‧Whitening
4
Potassium Hydroxide

‧pH Adjusters
3
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Propylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
0 0
3
Sodium Lactate

‧Moisturizer
4
Hydroxyethylcellulose

‧Viscosity Control
1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil

‧Surfactant
3
Panthenol

‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
0 0
1
Allantoin

‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Anti-allergic
0 0
1
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Portulaca Oleracea Extract

1
Carica Papaya Fruit Extract

1
Arnica Montana Flower Extract

‧Fragrance
2
Artemisia Absinthium Extract

1
Achillea Millefolium Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
3
Gentiana Lutea Root Extract

1
Alcohol

‧Solvent
2
Polyquaternium-10

‧Antistatic
1
Disodium EDTA

1
Methylparaben

‧Preservative 0 0
4
Propylparaben

‧Preservative 0 0
7
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4

Hey, wasn’t this discontinued?

well for many month of 2015-2016 it was not in production since Mizon was coming out with a crappier version of their skin Renewal Program Line. It was more expensive and has a lower percentage AHA serum. But not too long ago Peach & Lily got it back in stock and they’re selling it for $25 (this is much more than I paid and what I was seeing from Korean websites) But they are THE licensed US retailer for Mizon so I think I’ll probably end up buying from them.

The next options will come from Korea, and the only other retailer I’m sort of familiar with with beautynetkorea who’s selling for 14.99 but you’ll have to pay international shipping.

But if there’s one AHA serum I keep recommending is this one. Its my all around favorite

Also this is my first post in my acids series where I try to cover every single AHA & BHA in my possession. I hope maybe I helped someone who’s been looking at this line and/or someone who is interested in the AHA serum. Now that this review is finally done, I can use these bottle to store oils.



One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *