Purpletale Ode to Hydration and Setting the Scene Review

Fresh out the mail

Fresh out the mail

Back in July the founder of Purpletale, Young-Ji reached out to my on Instagram asking if I would be interested in reviewing a couple of products from her line (my choice). And because she said she would include the headband I was game ^_^

You can control the shape of the bow by bending it. it's quite possibly the best headband out there. It's also comfortable on my big head

You can control the shape of the bow by bending it. it’s quite possibly the best headband out there. It’s also comfortable on my big head

When @hellopurpletale asked if I wanted to try a couple products out… I let them know how incredible their new headband was. ??? I’ve already starting using their setting the scene treatment essence which feels kinda like an fte and next week I’m going to transiton to using their ode to hydration facial cream . . . I’m mostly playing with the headband on the dog children now since it has wires in it. . . . Thank you for throwing in this amazing head accessory . . . #purpletale #dog #dogs #doglove #doglife #dogstagram #dogsofinstagram #pet #pets #petlove #petlife #petstagram #petsofinstagram #pomeranians #pomlove #pomlife #pomstagram #pomeraniansofinstagram #pomsofinstagram #개 #강아지 #포매라니안 #cute #rasianbeauty #asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #headband

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on

A little about the brand

Purpletale: The beauty of YOU is their slogan and from their website

purpletale is not a beauty line.

purpletale is a movement. 

We believe that when you look good, you feel good. And when you feel good, you can’t help but share goodness with the world around you.

That’s why we only use wholesome, enriching ingredients that nourish your skin and make it easy to feel beautiful from the inside out.

Our products are simple and easy to use, making your regimen feel less like a process and more like pampering

Together, we can help everyone see their beauty and share their story.

And their founder’s story, which I found a nice read

Hi I’m Young-Ji.
I would never have used the word “Beautiful” to describe myself a few years ago.
Not with the extreme expectations of beauty out there today. Not while being bombarded
with gorgeous faces and exotic races on TV, magazine covers and all over my
newsfeeds, day in and day out. Not in this world where it’s so easy to modify anything
that’s wrong with you, whether digitally or surgically.I was cute. Pretty, at best. But I would never have looked at myself and said “Hi Beautiful.”
Too much of our time is spent in the mirror on a fault finding mission and trying achieve
someone else’s sensationalized standard. We focus on what’s not right with us, what we
wish were different, and not learning to appreciate the person looking back at us in the
mirror.
I wanted to change that—to help other people see the beauty in themselves. That’s why
I created purpletale. Wholesome products with effective ingredients for loving the skin
you’re in, that help to enable causes focused on boosting self-esteem. purpletale reminds
us that the best thing you can be is yourself. Everything we do stems from the basic
belief that you don’t need help becoming beautiful, sometimes you just need a little help

seeing that you already are.

That’s my story of beauty. I’d love to hear yours.
And since she went in depth, to her inspiration and what she’s focusing on I think it’s time to get into the products and my experience

Purpletale Ode to Hydration Facial Cream

16-09-03-15-58-58-293_deco

I’m a pretty big fan of these round boxes.

I like the purple packaging, simple clean and cute

 

You gotta read instructions

Lasts 12 months after opening

16-09-03-16-00-15-002_deco

I love it when Korean brands list directions and ingredients in English. #Iamalazytranslator

Check out that metallic purple

Check out that metallic purple

How long did I use this Cream?

For one month straight and I was using it with the ode to hydration essence

It comes with a spatula in the bottom, and naturally I've lost it in my bedroom

It comes with a spatula in the bottom, and naturally I’ve lost it in my bedroom

Also this is a glass jar, with what I’m assuming is an aluminum wrapped plastic lid

The standard white creamy goodness

The standard white creamy goodness

What are it’s claims?

Our love for happy and healthy skin has us feeling so poetic that we were inspired to compose an ode… to hydration! Formulated with carefully chosen ingredients such as ginseng, peptide complexes, adenosine, and niacinamide, our Ode to Hydration will repair a wide variety of skin concerns including dull complexion, fine lines, dark spots, and blemishes. Basically, it’s like serenading your skin with its very own love song. Not only that, it’s perfect for all skin types, and that’s fact, not fiction.

  • fix dull complexion
  • fix fine lines
  • fix dark spots & blemishes = which I’m assuming is meant to mean it helps heal acne and reduces PIH

My skin type

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (I rarely react to anything, but I am allergic to cats)
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • staying hydrated

My experience

I was surprised by how hydrating this cream was since I’m usually used to opulent packaging with long complex ingredient lists to match. It is hydrating without being oily so I would say that if you’re dry or combo/normal this is a great hydrating cream and I’d suspect oily skinned people out there would appreciate its hydrating ability as well

  • Scent: very faint, like I can smell there is something there but it’s so light to me I can’t discern it well
  • Texture: I found it to feel a bit creamier than Joseon dynasty cream and the Freeset Donkey Milk 3D moisture cream which have that “chewey” texture. But it’s not that heavy. Kind of a standard cream feel
  • Application: Absorbs readily on my dry skin and gives me that “Chok Chok” kind of bouncy mositurized feel.
  • Effects:does it do what it claims

    • fix dull complexion : when I used it in conjuction with the setting the scene essence I did notice more evening and a slight brightening of skin tone, but nothing over the top.
    • fix fine lines: yes, due to its plumping ability I’d say yes this would most likely help hydrate those fine lines in most people
    • fix dark spots & blemishes: I don’t recall getting much acne while using this cream, so I cannot attest to its ability to fix PIH or heal blemishes.
  • 16-09-03-16-06-59-553_deco

    I just wanted to show the lack of shine this cream imparted since not everyone wants a super oily cream

What’s inside

The star ingredients which are highlighted on the packaging and on their website are

Our facial cream is composed with ginseng, peptide complexes, adenosine, and niacinamide. It’s not a poem that rhymes, but it does repair a wide variety of skin concerns.

Ginseng saponin (Ginsenosides): The hero of our story; this revolutionary ingredient of Asian skincare saves the day with nourishing and antioxidant properties to help restore and preserve a more youthful look.

Peptide complexes: Time machines are no longer just for sci-fi and fantasy tales. This anti-aging powerhouse prompts natural collagen production to reverse the signs of aging.

Adenosine: this ingredient doesn’t believe in reading between the lines, just getting rid of them – and without irritating or inflaming your skin in the process. This yeast-derived ingredient penetrates deeply into skin to improve appearance of wrinkles and fine lines while supporting healthy cell function.

Niacinamide: also known as vitamin B, although we prefer to think of it as your skin’s vitamin-packed BFF. This tried-and-true ingredient has a remarkable reputation for treating uneven skin tones, reducing acne, and soothing skin redness. Sounds like the perfect sidekick to us.

And because I love getting a little more analysis done, I’ve uploaded the full ingredient list into CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Hydrogenated Polydecene

2
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride

‧Fragrance
1
Butyrospermum Parkii

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil

‧Plant extract
Niacinamide

1
1,2-Hexanediol

‧Solvent
1
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Cyclopentasiloxane

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
3
Cyclohexasiloxane

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
2
Stearic Acid

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 0
1
Polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate

‧Emulsifier
1
Olea Europaea Fruit Oil

‧Solvent
‧Fragrance
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
2 0
1
Sodium Acrylate/
Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer

‧Viscosity Control
1
Polysorbate 60

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
3
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Sorbitan Stearate

‧Emulsifier 0 1
1
Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
2 0-2
1
Isohexadecane

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
1
Polysorbate 80

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
0 0
3
Betaine

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Polyglutamic Acid

‧Moisturizer
1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Alcohol Denat

‧Solvent 0 5
4
Pueraria Mirifica Root Extract

1
Centella Asiatica Extract

‧Anti-inflammatory
1
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

‧Moisturizer
1
Copper Tripeptide-1

1
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4

‧Moisturizer
1
Ginsenosides

Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Adenosine

1
Disodium EDTA

1
Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4

From the ingredients I can see why my skin seems to do so well with this cream in that it has, jojoba seed oil, shea butter, olive oil and macadamia seed oil which I’ve tested all over my body and my skin really loves those oils. But for the 촉촉 chokchok feeling I’m guessing it’s partly due to the PGA which comes from fermented soybeans. I’m discovering this year my skin really loves soybeans.

Purpletale Setting the Scene Essence

 

16-09-03-16-02-41-107_deco

A box for trigonometry lovers everywhere

A box for trigonometry lovers everywhere

16-09-03-16-03-31-342_deco

16-09-03-16-04-02-756_deco

For those who want to practice 한글

How long did I use this cream

In total I’ve been using this for almost 2 months.

#latergram of my morning routine. Added in a new product this week from @minibbeauty and will make a post later today about it. . . . 1. #Cleanser #atoclassic real tonic soothing multi cleanser 2. #Toner #clabiane revitalizing toner 3. #fte #purpletale setting the scene treatment essence 4. #Active maybe? #timeless matrixyl 3000 serum 5. #serum clabiane anti wrinkle hydro filler (finally finished one dropper bottle and have popped open a new one) 6. #ampoule #manyofactory ultra moist spa ampoule, this makes everything before it sink in 7. #essence *new* maricle marine pure 24k gold snail essence. 8. #lotion atoclassic calming smart lotion 9. #cream clabiane PGA cream 10. #sunscreen #loveisderma uv shield cuz I wanted a tinted sunscreen today . . . #rasianbeauty#asianbeauty #koreanbeauty #koreanskincare #koreancosmetic #kbeauty #한방 #hanbang #skincare #스킨 #스킨케어 #코스매틱 #뷰티

A photo posted by 에이미 (@peepingpomeranian) on


Basically with any product I like to keep track of my use on Instagram, and in my planner

What are its claims?

The best stories start strong, and that’s how yours should, too — each and every day! Our treatment essence sets the perfect foundation for your beauty routine by improving your skin’s texture and clarity.

This lightweight essence starts you off with a hydrating base that instantly perks up your skin, leaving you glowing from the inside out. Is it just us, or is this story off to a great start?

Loaded with ginseng, peptide complexes, adenosine and niacinamide, this lightweight treatment essence will set the right tone for your day. It helps hydrate, brighten and smooth fine lines for that oh-so-coveted glow.  Perfect for all skin types. 

With daily use, this essence will improve skin’s overall texture and contribute to a more beautiful, balanced, and glowing complexion. 

But if you look at the box it lists

  • Firming
    • smooth fine lines and improve skin’s texture
  • Brightening

My skin type (already stated above) = dry

My experience

  • Scent: This one has a more present scent than the cream, but its that kind of generic lotion scent. Like aveeno in the tan bottle with the green pump. I like it
  • Texture: A thin watery gel. It becomes more watery as your body heat warms it up
  • Application: glides across the skin easily and absorbs quickly
  • Effects: 
    • As an FTE by itself: is very hydrating and has some brightening effet
    • As an FTE (first treatment essence) with the ode to hydration cream: these seem to work best together. I find that combined they are very plumping and there seems to be a better brightening effect.
    • As an essence in the middle of a routine: seems to lose the brightening but keeps the hydration
    • As an essence with ode to hydration cream: Definitely not as brightening as it could be but still hydrating
Definitely a watery gel here

Definitely a watery gel here

What’s inside?

This fluid type of essence will help hydrate, brighten and smooth fine lines while supporting skin cell renewal.

Ginseng saponin: The hero of our story; this revolutionary ingredient of Asian skincare saves the day with nourishing and antioxidant properties to help restore and preserve a more youthful look.

Peptide complexes: Time machines are no longer just for sci-fi and fantasy tales. This anti-aging powerhouse prompts natural collagen production to reverse the signs of aging.

Adenosine: this ingredient doesn’t believe in reading between the lines, just getting rid of them – without irritating or inflaming your skin in the process. This yeast-derived ingredient penetrates deeply into skin to improve appearance of wrinkles and fine lines while supporting healthy cell function.

Niacinamide: also known a vitamin B, though we consider it more as your skin’s vitamin-packed BFF. This tried-and-true ingredient has a reputation for treating uneven skin tones, reducing acne, and soothing skin redness. Sounds like the perfect sidekick to us.

And I added this to CosDNA as well

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Alcohol Denat

‧Solvent 0 5
4
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Niacinamide

1
1,2-Hexanediol

‧Solvent
1
Diglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Betaine

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Hydroxyethylcellulose

‧Viscosity Control
1
PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil

‧Surfactant
3
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Allantoin

‧Anti-inflammatory
‧Anti-allergic
0 0
1
Ethylhexylglycerin

‧Moisturizer
1
Adenosine

1
Disodium EDTA

1
Sodium Hyaluronate

‧Moisturizer 0 0
1
Polyglutamic Acid

‧Moisturizer
1
Hydrogenated lecithin

‧Emulsifier
2
Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

‧Moisturizer
1
Copper Tripeptide-1

1
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4

‧Moisturizer
1
Pueraria Mirifica Root Extract

1
Ginsenosides

Fragrance

‧Fragrance
1
~
4

This also contains the same star ingredients as the ode to hydration cream and I did ask the brand founder what the niacinamide percentage was and she said it was around 2% which is the same for the cream. I actually didn’t know the niacinamide percentage for each item until the day before finishing this review.

Something else I noticed

The essence is quite watery but it still has a bit of stringiness to it, or a little bit of sliminess that reminded me of snail essences.

16-09-03-16-19-51-098_deco

Here is the Ode to hydration

In using this essence I felt like the texture reminded me of something

In using this purpletale essence I felt like the texture reminded me of something

And when you look at snail essence it's fairly similar, just happens to keep a more slimy texture before you rub it in

And when you look at snail essence it’s fairly similar, just happens to keep a more slimy texture before you rub it in

And when you think about snail mucin skin benefits, it includes peptides similar to the purple tale essence, hyaluronic acid and generally has a soothing & moisturizing effect. So for me when I think about people who are allergic to snail mucin/dust mites or those who would prefer to not use snail in their skincare I’m going to recommend this essence since in my opinion in has a very similar feel and effect (not to the cosrx snail for me but rather the tonymoly snail essence) in terms of hydrating and evening of the skin tone.

Overall

If I had to choose one item from the two, I’d go for the cream since my dry skin is in constant need of cream and I had a great experience with this one. I would say that since the cream isn’t terribly heavy I feel like most skin types would appreciate its hydrating effect and perhaps even oily skin types might like to use it at night. I did use this cream under makeup and sunscreen without issue as well. The essence though I used it longer is something that I don’t necessarily need as much as a cream since I have dry skin. I do believe that, due to it’s watery nature, this would work for all skin types either as an FTE (which was my preference) or as a hydrating essence. It’s nice to know that both the cream and the essence have around 2% Niacinamide in them since I believe that’s the minimum percentage necessary for reduction of hyperpigmentation (over time) and at the very minimum I could attribute the overall brightening of my complexion to it.

Thank you to Young-Ji for providing these to me to review on my own timeline 😀

***

And if you’re interested in purchasing these for yourself  you can buy them from Purpletale directly here

Or you can pick up the essence and some other purpletale products from the US based retailer Beautibi

  • Free Shipping with orders $50+
  • Save $5 on your first order by using my referral link




One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *