What Bananas Can Do for Wounds; Plus a Review of TonyMoly Banana Sleeping Pack, Hand Cream and Lip Balm



If I see a cosmetic product shaped as food I am powerless and must own it.

 

I think we all knew it was inevitable. That I would just end up expanding my fruit needs to other parts of my life. But that’s not why you’re here. So lets get to business

TonyMoly Banana Line (토니모리 바나나)

Just like buying bananas from Starbucks... one at a time

Just like buying bananas from Starbucks… one at a time

 

There’s actually 5 Products in the Line

  1.  Tony Moly Banana Cream Foam Cleanser
  2. Tony Moly Banana Peeling Cream
  3. Tony Moly Banana Sleeping Pack
  4. Tony Moly Banana Hand Milk
  5. Tony Moly Dalcom Banana Pong-Dang Lip Balm

But I’m only focusing on Banana shaped things because I have packaging standards

And before we get into things a little about me if you’re new here and/or can’t see my side bar

  • Dry Skin
  • Non- Sensitive (literally have not reacted to hundreds of products over the course of my lifetime)
    • I still patch test though and you should to before trying anything new
  • Concerns
    • blackheads around the chin and on nose
    • The occasional pimple
    • inhibiting wrinkle formation
    • preventing cancer

Also some things to note about this line, which were advertised on Beautynetkorea (I’ll link the pics later on)

5 exclusions

  • No Parabens
  • No Mineral Oil
  • No Triethanolamine,
  • No TALC
  • No Venzyle Alcohol

 

Round one: Banana Lip Balm

So adorable

So adorable

  1. Yes this smells like bananas, but out of the three this has the lightest banana scent
    1. I’d say it smells like banana candy something like Laffy Taffy or the Runtz banana
  2. Color & texture: Kind of a creamy looking vaseline. Has a little bit of a waxy feel, but a bit more conditioning
  3. Efficacy: Definitely a balm that provides enough conditioning to help with currently dry lips but also is occlusive enough for lips in winter, at least on the West Coast.
  4. Would I buy again? Yes.
  5. 16-08-21-12-15-54-093_deco
  6. Ingredients from CosDNA
    Ingredient Function UV Acne Irritant Safety
    Petrolatum

    ‧Antistatic
    ‧Emollient
    0 0
    4
    Polybutene

    ‧Viscosity Control
    1
    Silica silylate

    ‧Viscosity Control
    ‧Emollient
    1
    VP/Hexadecene Copolymer

    ‧Viscosity Control
    ‧Antistatic
    1
    Diisostearyl malate

    ‧Emollient
    1
    Tocopheryl Acetate

    ‧Moisturizer
    ‧Antioxidant
    0 0
    3
    Titanium Dioxide

    ‧Pigment
    ‧Sunscreen
      0 0
    1
    ~
    3
    Fragrance

    ‧Fragrance
    1
    ~
    4
    Polyethylene

    ‧Viscosity Control
    1
    Dehydroacetic Acid

    ‧Preservative
    1
    Polyglyceryl-2 triisostearate

    ‧Emulsifier
    1
    CI 19140

    ‧Pigment
    3
    Silica Dimethyl Silylate

    ‧Viscosity Control
    1
    Musa Sapientum Fruit Extract

    1
    Ceramide 3

    ‧Moisturizer
    1
    Cocos Nucifera Oil

    ‧Solvent
    ‧Fragrance
    ‧Moisturizer
    ‧Emollient
    ‧Plant extract
    4 1
    1
    Milk Protein Extract

    1
    Water

    ‧Solvent
    1
    Butylene Glycol

    ‧Solvent
    ‧Moisturizer
    1 0
    1
    1,2-Hexanediol

    ‧Solvent
    1
    Phenoxyethanol

    ‧Preservative
    4

    Also the English Advertisement

http://beautynetkorea.com/product/TONYMOLY-Delight-Dalcom-Banana-Pong-Dang-Lip-Balm-7g/353/

http://beautynetkorea.com/product/TONYMOLY-Delight-Dalcom-Banana-Pong-Dang-Lip-Balm-7g/353/

Round 2: Banana Hand Milk

I love bringing this out to use on Public Transit

I love bringing this out to use on Public Transit

  1. Yes this also smells like bananas. But I would say this one to me smells more strongly of banana candy aka banana laffy taffy
  2. Color & Texture: Ok this one has a very odd texture. It’s kind of like, ricotta cheese or shredded almond gelatin. Its white and the nozzel is small which means that it does kind of make these small airy flatulant noises when the product gets low @_@ and I find it wonderful that I have a small banana that farts hand lotion precisely
  3. Efficacy: This is a REALLY good hand cream. I know it says milk but it has the effects of a cream while not being heavy. It sinks in really well on my dry skin, and I will even add a second layer that does make my hands start to get tacky BUT IT IS WORTH IT. I find this exceptionally conditioning
  4. Would I rebuy. YES I plan to. I don’t ever want to run out

16-08-21-12-17-05-509_deco

Ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Butyrospermum Parkii Butter

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
Pentaerythrityl tetraethylhexanoate

‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
1
Cocos Nucifera Oil

‧Solvent
‧Fragrance
‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
‧Plant extract
4 1
1
Butylene Glycol

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
1 0
1
Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil

‧Plant extract
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Musa Sapientum Fruit Extract

1
Urea

‧Moisturizer
‧Anti-inflammatory
3
Pentylene Glycol

‧Moisturizer
1
Polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate

‧Emulsifier
1
Cetearyl Glucoside

‧Viscosity Control
‧Moisturizer
‧Emulsifier
1
Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate

‧Viscosity Control
1
Milk Protein Extract

1
1,2-Hexanediol

‧Solvent
1
Disodium EDTA

1
Tocopheryl Acetate

‧Moisturizer
‧Antioxidant
0 0
3
Phenoxyethanol

‧Preservative
4
Yellow 5

‧Pigment
3
CI 15985

‧Pigment
1

Also the English Advertisement

magicfoodbananahandmilk

http://beautynetkorea.com/product/Tonymoly-11-Magic-Food-Banana-Hand-Milk-45ml/3478/

Round 3: Banana Sleeping Pack

16-08-21-13-06-13-784_deco

The last of my banana stockpile

  1. As you guessed it. This smells like bananas too. I’d say it’s basically the same pungency as the hand milk
  2. Color & Texture: This is quite smooth, and similar to other creamy sleeping packs that Sulwhasoo and Etude House makes. It’s a light yellow color as well
  3. Efficacy: This is alright as a sleeping pack. For my dry skin I use a sleeping pack nightly and I actually prefer a gel pack because I find that it forms a better layer over my other creams etc. Cream packs in my opinion take longer to dry and they make me question whether or not I need to use a cream. After going back and forth I’d say this is better than the Etude House cream sleeping packs but not quite as elegant as the Sulwhasoo. This is like a Costco level sleeping pack. No frills but does the job of adding in an additional layer of moisture
  4. Would I buy this again? I don’t think so, I’m a bit of a sleeping pack connoisseur and I prefer gels over creams.

16-08-21-13-06-13-784_deco

Ingredients from CosDNA

Ingredient Function Acne Irritant Safety
Water

‧Solvent
1
Glycerin

‧Solvent
‧Moisturizer
0 0
2
Cetyl Ethylhexanoate

‧Synthetic ester
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
1
Cetearyl Alcohol

‧Surfactant
‧Viscosity Control
‧Emulsifier
2 2
1
Glyceryl Stearate

‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
Behenyl Alcohol

‧Viscosity Control
1
Beeswax

‧Viscosity Control
‧Emollient
‧Emulsifier
0-2 0-2
1
Petrolatum

‧Antistatic
‧Emollient
0 0
4
Cyclopentasiloxane

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
3
Polysorbate 60

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
3
Musa Sapientum Fruit Extract

1
Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract

‧Fragrance
1
Pentylene Glycol

‧Moisturizer
1
Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate

‧Viscosity Control
1
Dimethicone

‧Emollient 1 0
1
Betaine

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
‧Moisturizer
1
Urea

‧Moisturizer
‧Anti-inflammatory
3
PEG-100 Stearate

‧Surfactant 1 0
3
Polyacrylamide

‧Viscosity Control
‧Antistatic
4
Sorbitan sesquioleate

‧Emulsifier
1
Caprylyl Glycol

‧Moisturizer
‧Emollient
1
C13-14 Isoparaffin

‧Solvent
‧Emollient
1
Magnesium Aluminum Silicate

‧Viscosity Control 0 0
1
Laureth-7

‧Surfactant
‧Emulsifier
3
1,2-Hexanediol

‧Solvent
1
Xanthan Gum

‧Viscosity Control
1
Disodium EDTA

1
Phenoxyethanol

‧Preservative
4
Parfum

‧Fragrance
1
~
4
CI 19140

‧Pigment
3
CI 15985

‧Pigment
1
Dimethiconol Ethylhexylglycerin no matched results

And the English Advertisement

http://beautynetkorea.com/product/TONYMOLY-Magic-Food-Banana-Sleeping-Pack-85ml/3324/

http://beautynetkorea.com/product/TONYMOLY-Magic-Food-Banana-Sleeping-Pack-85ml/3324/

Final Verdict

But first some swatches

From left to right: Sleeping pack, hand milk and lip balm

that pungent banana aroma danced around me while capturing this image

that pungent banana aroma danced around me while capturing this image

This is all to show you how odd the hand milk texture is

This is all to show you how odd the hand milk texture is

Which was my favorite

  1. The Hand milk. Omg it’s so good. As long as you’re fine with the ingredients check it out
  2. Runner up: the lip balm. Defintely a good balm, not too sticky and not too waxy. Would buy again
  3. The just alright one: the sleeping pack. I’m a pretty picky pack person. I think for most people looking to try a cream pack with AMAZING packing. I’d recommend this one. Since the only other creamy sleeping pack I could recommend is the Sulwhasoo one and that is 60 dollars sooo c’mon.

Where can you get these

  1. Ulta Beauty in the USA has started carrying these now, but they are more expensive there. You can also find these in Tony Moly shops in the US, as well as other Korean import stores
  2. Where I bought my most recent banana things was actually from BBCosmetic a Korean online retailer that ships internationally
    1. They’re cheaper there too aaaaand free shipping
    2. The Lip Balm is 6.99 USD here
    3. The Hand Cream is 6.95 USD here
    4. The Sleeping Pack is 9.30 USD here
    5. And you can get all three for 23.24 with free shipping or BBcosmetic gave me a 8% discount code Y0T764O6CM for my readers (it doesn’t provide me a commission, just makes me look cool) to bring that down to 21.38 USD (just imagine what you can do with that 1.86 you saved)
  3. But yes there are many places to find them but as always it is safest to buy from a licensed retailer.

What Bananas Can Do For YOU

Science time. Yes yes we know bananas are naturally radioactive due to Potassium-40. And that they’re all clones. AND that another blight of banana disease will wipe out the Cavendish Bananas that we find in every grocery store, but you’re not here for Banana wikipedia info. You’re here for skincare. Maybe.

Apparently Plantain bananas have be studied and been shown to posses ulcer healing properties. These studies occurred after evaluating folk remedies of using unripe plantains to heal stomach ulcers. The mechanism appears to be that the plantains are able to increase gastric mucus production through promoting mucous-producing cell growth rather than most pharmaceutical methods of simply stimulating the already present mucous-producing cells to produce more mucous (1). So scientists in India Branching off this research and searching for a method of chronic wound healing that was cost effective and evidence-based turned to plantains to see if the healing of ulcer dyspepsias could also effect wound healing (on the skin) as well. Buying their own unripe plantains they dried them, and using distilled water created a banana extract by soaking the powder the water for two days and they also made a methanolic extract by adding the powder to the methanol thrice over two days. Now these are studies translated to English, but I believe they ended up with an approximately 5% banana extract solution. They compared the addition of banana extracts to vitamin E on wounds they administered to albino rats and compared the rates of wound closure. For this study they gave the rats measured doses of the plantain extracts and vitamins orally, which isn’t quite what I wanted which was topical applications. They found that both the water and methanolic 5% solutions showed a dose-dependent faster healing rate and an increased tensile strength of the healed incision wounds. They also increased the wet and dry weight and the hydroxyproline content of the granulation (scar) tissue indicating the presence of higher collagen content (2)

Ok so we’re covering reasons how bananas help heal you from the inside out. But what about topical treatments. Well I am very thankful for the Brazillian Banana Biologists. Using unripe banana peels they created a gel with 4% unripe banana peel extract to use topically on rats with incision wounds similar to those created for the Indian study. The results from topical application seemed to show a somewhat slower effect where it took about 20 days to start to see a significant difference between the control groups (no banana gel) and the experiment groups (4% banana goodness). Here’s an actual quote, “ The use of 4% unripe Musa sapientum peel gel on surgical wounds in rats resulted in an increased number of polymorphonuclear cells on day 7, reduced wound contraction, reduced vascular proliferation and increased concentration of collagen fibers on day 21.” (3) However, if you look into the results more, the differences in wound contraction rates aren’t really that amazing so I pressed onward.

Back to India. And this time we have a 10% Banana STEM extract. Using basically the same rat wound model as all these global wound experiments, they applied the plantain stem juice at 10% concentration topically to the wounds. What they found was that there was a significant enhancement in the rate of wound healing and it took less time for the new skin to reform. (4) And this research group also mentioned that the plantain stem juice was already used in wound care treatment in Ghana and has been used for a long time.

Soo. I’m sold. Rubbing banana peels on my body. But what about the TonyMoly products?

Well the hand milk and the sleeping pack have 10,000ppm of banana extract. Is that enough to do anything? Well I’m not sure what parts of the banana they’re using or how they’re concentrating it. But 10,000ppm of Banana extract works out to only 1% banana extract in the items. If they bumped it up to 10% then maybe we can talk about testing the products on scratches or the sleeping pack over acne. But that would require TonyMoly to give us 100,000ppm of banana extract. In the end I’m still going to use my lip balm and hand milk and sleeping pack since I’m not using them for healing surgical wounds. But it would be interesting to see what a more concentrated banana stem gel might do for Acne.

Cheers

References

  1. Best R, Lewis DA, Nasser N. The anti-ulcerogenic activity of the unripe plantain banana (Musa species). Br J Pharmacol. 1984 May;82(1):107-16. PubMed PMID: 6329384; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC1987262.
  2. Agarwal PK, Singh A, Gaurav K, Goel S, Khanna HD, Goel RK. Evaluation of wound healing activity of extracts of plantain banana (Musa sapientum var. paradisiaca) in rats. Indian Journal of Experimental Biology. 2009 Jan; 47(1): 32-40
  3. Lino, Priscila B., Corrêa, Cleber F., Archondo, Márcia E. D. L., & Dellova, Deise C. A. L.. (2011). Evaluation of post-surgical healing in rats using a topical preparation based on extract of Musa sapientum L., Musaceae, epicarp. Revista Brasileira de Farmacognosia, 21(3), 491-496. Epub April 01, 2011.https://dx.doi.org/10.1590/S0102-695X2011005000052
  4. WEREMFO, A.; PAPPOE, A. N. M.; ADINORTEY, M. B.. Wound Healing Potential of Musa paradisiaca L. (Musaceae) Stem Juice Extract formulated into an Ointment. Research Journal of Pharmacology and Pharmacodynamics, [S.l.], p. 294-296, Jan. 2015. ISSN 0975-4407. Available at: <http://www.i-scholar.in/index.php/Rjppd/article/view/58497>. Date accessed: 21 Aug. 2016.




24 Comments

  1. Kitty

    I love my hand cream! As you already saw, the little nozzle is part of the fun because I can’t help but write something with it everytime I put it on. I’m almost to the point of having to repurchase, and I will, but I’ll likely fill my old tube with some other cream because I like the banana so much.

  2. Myranda Wratchford

    These all sound like products I would like to have handy in the winter. I don’t really have dry skin problems, but things happen. And I agree, I prefer gel sleeping packs to creams. But if a product is effective enough, I’ll deal with it! I need that little lip balm, too, because I’ll use any lip balm that comes on cute packaging!

    – @skincare.bunny

  3. ValTheRizzle

    Wow! I never knew about the healing properties of bananas! I would also be interested in seeing if a highly concentrated banana product could help treat ace or if it could be used to even treat the acne scars I got when I was younger. This post was awesome! I really want to try the hand milk!!

  4. Mmm, these all look like they smell amazing! I bet these would be great for my combination/dry skin this upcoming winter. I’ve always seen these Tony Moly banana products around, but for some reason always passed them up, so they’d be fun to try! The lip balm I’ve tried before, and it smells just like bananas!

    – @leavesofyves

  5. dearlouveciennes

    Great post girl!! I’ve been admiring these banana products for awhile now but haven’t tried them yet. Nice to read your opinions on them first. 🙂

  6. Anna(AbominableSnowbunny)

    Very interesting! Thanks for sharing your research. Aaaaand now I need the hand milk because farting banana. BTW, you like the TM Appletox peeling cream, right? So do I but I can now say the Banana Peeling Cream is awesome too! Better for dry skin IME.

  7. Love the post, very informative and since I dont have surgical wounds, these will do the trick of moisturizing!
    Its so funny how in every Korean product ever you should put “appropriate ammount” 😀 What is an appropriate ammount!?
    Off to eat a banana or two! 😀
    #highpotassiumgiveaway

  8. The texture of the hand cream is definitely odd, but if it offers ultra-moisturizing then I really don’t mind. Love banana scent!! A similar item would be the banana hand cream from Apieu, but tony moly’s is definitely cuter cos duh banana packaging!!!

  9. Brittney

    I’m in love with the banana hand milk cream I’m on my second one. The smell of banana laffy taffy makes me smile. I don’t know why but for some reason when ever I put it on I can’t help but wonder what it will taste like. Lol. I’m a double layer person two. I don’t care if my hands get sticky I need all the banana love. I’ve only done samples of the sleeping pack, but I haven’t dabbled into sleeping packs yet I don’t know where to start. Thanks to you I need to pick up the lip balm

  10. Ilham

    OMG EVERYTHING is detailed !!I love reading your reviews ♥ I’m in love with bananas I always rub the leaf on my face and teeths because I heard that it whitten them !!it’s also a good moisturiser for skin 🙂 I’ve never tried any sleeping pack so I’m curious about it 🙂 #highpotassiumgiveaway (@excusemeeeh) ♥♡♥

  11. Ilham Derouiche

    Omg everything is Detailed! !*-* I love reading your reviews ♥ I’m in love with bananas I always rub the leaf on my face or teeths because I heard that it whitten them !!it’s also a good moisturiser for skin & hair 🙂 I’ve never tried any sleeping pack so I’m curious about it 🙂 I loved the texture of the hand cream ♡. IG:@excusemeeeh ♡♥♡

  12. Jennifer

    I have a sample of the Tony Moly Banana Hand Milk and I need to try it. I love banana scented things ❤?
    I am @theskincarewitch on the ‘gram!

  13. The hand cream is my life! Sometimes I whip it out just to smell it… is that weird? Might be. I don’t care. Though I fear the day that a banana disease wipes them out! They are my favorite of all time and usually eat at least two a day 🙂 Sounds like I might be able to put those extra peels to good use! (<3 @cincinbanana)

  14. BabyAjumma

    I’m bananas for bananas (c; I was at my local Ulta and they now have the whole TonyMoly line which is exciting, still no Skinfood, but we shall see. I was sad b/c they were out of the lip balm. I love the hand milk though and keep that in my coat pocket all winter. Basically so I always have a banana on hand, just in case.

  15. Darla

    This is bananas!! Eloquently written! Really enjoyed reading this. I’ve also heard banana peels are great for rose bushes you put it at the base of the plant and let the ground work it’s magic. I’ve actually seen this improve the health of an old rose bush I had.

    @thebeautyofapineapple

  16. kittenishcutie

    Oooh, I love bananas! I really want to try the hand milk and lip balm. My hands are always feeling dry, either from the heat or the air conditioner, and I have yet to find a hand cream that feels truly moisturizing. This one sounds great, + bonus points for smelling like yummy bananas 🙂

  17. Aylin Demirtas

    I love bananas! ??? your post are always so informative 🙂 I really like how detailed your posts are.

    – @einepriseglitzer

  18. I am lonely and I want a skincare banana for my mouth since I can’t find me a human one…help me noona….

    (Ghettofab55 girl u know who I am I’d be heartbroken if ya didn’t)

  19. Allyce

    I was resisting because the mango sunscreen was such a heavy oily flop for me but now I neeeeeeeeed these! There goes my self control! ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *